June is Rolling By

It’s June in Minnesota, and summer is in full swing. Well, technically we just had the summer solstice late last night, but it has felt like summer all month.

Speedy is doing what little boys do and discovering joys such as playing in sand, eating crayons, chasing after puppy dogs, and fighting his bedtime because it’s still light out.

  
I’m not sure if I have mentioned this before, but I strongly feel that being a mom to my son is the greatest joy ever. Ever. I love everything about him, and I hope I can somehow manage to grow into a normal parent who sets proper boundaries, and guides effectively, etc, etc. Because right now I mostly just want to kiss his cheeks and play with him and bring him with me everywhere I reasonably can. Except to work everyday. 😉 I am grateful for our daycare provider, who allows me to get uninterrupted work done during weekdays, and it does make the rest of my mama time even sweeter.

We did our first cutting of hay at the dairy several weeks ago, and the alfalfa fields are already filling into a lush green again. Summer is busy and full of long days, but it still goes so fast!

  
 I continue to make more progress on my running than I expected, and Speedy still loves the jogging stroller. Both of my typical summer races fall on the same day this year (sadness), so I’ll have to make a choice between my hometown and my current town race on July 1st. I expect I’ll push the stroller either way.

I’m also nervously ecstatic to say I signed up for the Twin Cities Marathon. I’ve got some other great moms I’m virtually training with, and I am pumped to finally run a race I’ve wanted to do for over a decade. I’m honestly busier than ever this summer, for many reasons, but getting up in the wee hours to run is proving therapeutic. I also love the days I can find time for a few miles with Speedy after daycare pickup.

  
Yes, he’s wearing a sleeper here. This was a particularly cool morning early last week. He wasn’t sleeping well, so we went out together as soon as the dawn was light enough.

June is DAIRY MONTH, so I’ll leave you with a few glimpses of the cows. 

   
   
I hope your summer is off to a great start! What do you hope to accomplish and enjoy during these warm months? 

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Being a Mom, Family Fun, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

