Henrietta and Baby Number Four

Sunday, March 5th was a busy morning here at the farm. I cared for one new heifer calf right away at 5:00, another heifer at about 9:00, and then I went back to our pregnant cow pen again about 11:00 to check for more. 

Sure enough, Henrietta was lying by herself in the corner working on delivering her fourth calf. And it was coming soon. She was six days overdue, so I had been watching closely for awhile. This was also the first time she didn’t pick 2:00 or 3:00 a.m. so I was actually around for it!   

I quickly moved her to a straw-filled maternity pen, and within five minutes we had a big, healthy, black heifer calf. Judging by the size I expected a bull, and I was pleasantly surprised when I lifted her leg to check. πŸ™‚

Henrietta was a good mother as always, and we got one of those coveted first photos. 

  
I’m glad she picked Sunday, which was a warm morning that turned into a 60 degree afternoon. The weather is turning colder now, and for the past two days we’ve had near constant 30 mph winds. Not as nice for delicate little ears and bodies even though the barn is closed up well! 

She will need a name, and I’m open to your suggestions. Please leave a comment or tweet @DairyCowGal if you like. I’ll plan to pick something my next Wednesday, March 15th. Thanks for your ideas.

   
 

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Henrietta (Etta for short!) and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

