February Spring

Well hello there! I’m finally poking my head up from what feels like weeks of doctor visits, poor sleep, fevers, and fussing. This includes Speedy and his parents. The sickness ratio has been out of control this winter. Last week I had strep throat and a temperature so high I thought I would need to visit the ER. Thankfully we are all still in one piece and feeling much better thanks to the goodness of antibiotics! 

We are also enjoying a crazy stretch of spring weather for February. Yesterday we had rain and thunderstorms, and the daytime temperatures have been in 50’s for almost a week. What is going on, winter?

 

In other news, this past weekend we reached a big milestone. JR and I went to a wedding, and our friends graciously babysat Speedy. He got to play with their little boy, and I had my first two nights apart from him since he was born. 

  
Speedy did awesome with our friends, and I was only a little teary-eyed. Truthfully, it was good for us to get away from the farm and spend time with friends and each other. I missed my boy like crazy, but that just meant I had a good excuse to kiss him extra all day Sunday. 🙂

As February winds down I realize I still haven’t written a running recap for 2016. Even though I was pregnant for the first three months of the year and navigating life with my first baby for the rest I really enjoyed the miles I did run. Speedy and I jointly tackled three races during the summer and fall, so I’ll be back in a day or two with my assessment of the year.

In the meantime, just remember it’s 50 – 60 degrees in Minnesota. If you happen to be looking for a warm getaway this February, you can add our fair state to your list. Hurry before this balmy weather offer expires…😉

 

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Being a Mom, Race Reports, Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

