First Christmas Memories

No matter how rushed, busy, and crazy I might let myself get before the holidays, Christmas itself is such a beautiful and holy time. I love it. Part of the reason I love it so much is the years of intertwined and happy memories it brings up each December. 

I hope we are helping Speedy make happy memories of this blessed time as well.

   
 

A whirlwind morning of farm chores, Christmas Eve Day with my family and Christmas Eve night with JR’s family with church in between made for a lot of miles and a tired baby and parents. But it was good. 
On Christmas Day itself we had crazy gusts of winds followed by an afternoon of freezing rain. The winds continued into the evening, the temperatures warmed up slightly, and we had a night of thunder, lightening, and downpours. I was glad we did our traveling on the day before! 

 I probably don’t have to spell out for you how much extra outside work this storm made, but I’m relieved to look back and say all people and animals are safe and sound. It did, however, take until the afternoon of the 26th for us to find the last missing calf from the row of those whose hutches blew away during the storm.      An icy Christmas

Speedy turned 9 months old on the 27th, and now we look forward to a fun and wild journey as he grows in this coming year. Maybe I’m just naive or hormonal or both, but I feel like everything is made better by kids. Being a mom is the greatest gift I can fathom, and I pray I will always cherish it as much as I do this year. 

   

Here’s to a productive last few days of 2016 and lots of progress, fulfillment, and love in the coming year.

   

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Being a Mom, Christian Reflections, Family Fun and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

