Wishy Washy Winter

I see I last wrote on “Blizzard Eve,” and come it did. As predicted the rain turned to sleet, the sleet turned to snow, and the snow turned into a swirling blizzard. Somewhere between six inches to one foot piled up, and I was sad about instant winter.

With the warm fall the ground was soggy and not at all frozen, so pushing snow and clearing out the farmyard was muddy, slow going. Our driveway and main paths around the barn are well structured and graveled but everything else was hard to plow and navigate.

  Mid-process of a long snow clean out. 

I think Speedy noticed the world looked differently, but he wasn’t too impressed. The morning he was born I remember we had a few inches of fresh, wet snow, but it was all melted away by mid-day. And I’m fairly certain that was our final measurable snow of the spring. I wonder if he will grow up to like snow and winter? 

   
 
This past week the temperatures have warmed up again, and we’ve had rain, fog, or both nearly everyday. That means the mud continues, and last night I even heard the radio meteorologist comment we haven’t seen the sun in so long it’s starting to feel like Seattle. I’m praying for a healthy dose of sunshine, stat!

I also want to wish you all a belated Happy Thamksgiving and a joyful start to December. We had a fun first Thanksgiving with Speedy and spent time with both our families while balancing the work and farm chores. It’s been a particularly hard balance this year because in November we’ve had more calves born than any other month in our farm’s history. 

We have calves throughout the year with some ebbs and flows, but this month just ended up particularly crazy. We will have quite a few more born the next two weeks, but things will go back to normal or even less than normal levels after that. It’s hard right now, but I’m grateful we will have a slightly easier stretch during the coldest part of the year.

I was super happy to capture photos of four generations of JR’s family and every last member of my side’s growing family. Between myself and my four sisters we now have one girl and six boys. These cousins already have some wild times! 🙂

   
   
Happy December and stay warm or stay cool, wherever you are! 

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Being a Mom, Family Fun and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

