Blizzard Eve

November has been simply delicious this year. Warm mellow days followed by cool nights and flowers that are still blooming. Is this really Minnesota?

Tonight is our reality check. Winter storm advisories and a blizzard warning are filling our news, and I suspect we will wake up to a coating of rain or ice that will turn to swirling snow. My honest feelings right now are dread and frustration over all the extra work and worry snow brings.

I should try not to wallow, and I did manage to come up with one positive. I’m curious to see what Speedy’s reaction will be when he looks out at his first snowfall. Will he be happy and curious about the newly white outdoors or will he even notice? 

Our harvest is safely finished and today we all spent the day scurrying around the farm moving calves, hauling manure, cleaning up projects and finishing the last of field tillage so we could be ready (as possible) for the snow. 

The warm November also meant I got the push I needed to get our back deck painted. I managed the front porch this summer, but the deck is larger, daunting, and looked oh so much worse. Success is mine!

   
 
I’m actually about half done in the ‘before’ picture, but you get the idea. 

Our little speedster has been crawling for the past few weeks, and he is so happy to explore everywhere we let him. The dogs, however, feel less happy that their eminent domain is getting smaller. Luckily they like him too. 

Think of us in the snow tomorrow, and let’s hope it blows through more quickly than predicted. Ready or not… Goodbye fall. Hello winter. 

   
 

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Being a Mom, Family Fun and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

