Election Thoughts

I shared this as my Facebook status early this morning as I was thinking about the election and trying to soothe a crying, teething little boy. 

Here are my election thoughts:

Happy Tuesday-after-the-first-Monday of November. Yes, it’s #electionday. ‘Long’ may come to mind as a descriptor for the past months of campaign season. 

How do we move forward from this election – on national, state, and local levels – with the hope of seeing unity, compromise, or positive change? Maybe the answer does lie somewhere in the middle of our divided political landscape. But it’s never that simple. The many and complex issues facing us don’t have a single answer. 

I do have another thought. If you’re passionate about an issue and you’re voting on that issue, what are YOU doing to effect positive change? What if more of us took our election worry and stress and channeled it into support and action for an issue we care about? Nobody can do everything, but we can all do our part in our own way. 

If you want more investment in education, how can you help the kids and teachers in your local schools?

Whether you are pro-choice or pro-life, what can you do to support women’s health, single parents, and women facing an unplanned pregnancy? 

If you are concerned about unfair or excessive regulation, how can you take part in public meetings, education, or comment periods?

If you believe in a strong military, what can you do for local veterans and current service members? 
No matter what your political beliefs, how can you support the American values of equality and fair treatment and opportunity for all people? 

I don’t pretend to have all these answers. I ask these questions of myself just as I’m asking you. And I think about the international issues of war, destruction, displacement, and poverty that I feel so powerless to address. I think about all of it as I wonder and pray about today’s outcome. 

I will vote. I hope you vote too. Vote your conscious. Vote your gut. Vote for your children. Vote based on careful research. Vote for who you are resigned to vote for. No matter who wins the many elections on the ballot, I remind myself I am capable of working for the things I care about. 

Find a way to go out and make a difference in your own community. No president or elected official can fundamentally change how we treat each other and what we can accomplish. That important work must be done person to person, and we are all just the people to do it. 

#vote2016 

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Christian Reflections, This and That and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

