Our Little Speedster

I have so much to say! How many things can I cram into one post? Before I jump in I am going to acknowledge something. I know my blog is becoming a baby chronology. And I’m mostly ok with that. I apologize to those of you who would rather not hear about cooing noises, stroller runs, and baby firsts. 

If you have any agriculture questions or other post suggestions please share them, and I’ll try to oblige quickly. Otherwise, my life — and hence my blog –is happily full of baby right now. 

I was never that much of a ‘baby person’ before my son was born. I thought some babies were cute while others just looked like small aliens. I mostly felt they were mysterious, wrinkly little creatures who would cry on a moments notice, and I never knew quite how to comfort them. 

I very much wanted a family, but I was worried about taking care of a baby. It sounded intimidating, tiring, and hard to figure out. I am so pleased with how wrong I was. In the interest of not getting too mushy, here’s my truth. In three sentences. 

My greatest joy in life is being a mom. This surprises me, but I feel it to my very core. Nothing else has helped reveal the goodness, power, and awesome depth of God’s love to me like the gift of motherhood and the love I feel for my little boy. 

This doesn’t mean I don’t ever feel tired or stressed or behind, but it does mean I’m intentional about recognizing the joy.

In the last few weeks we’ve added several more activities to our little man’s rรฉsumรฉ. We did race number two on August 20th, and he was a good sport and slept as the rain poured down just a few minutes after the start. I felt like a poorly prepared mother, but I pulled the sun shade over his head as far as possible, hoped his blanket wouldn’t get soaked, and tried to run faster! 

Said race was of undetermined length and time. The short story is this was a small 5K, they didn’t have volunteers or signs at the turnaround, and they didn’t announce or post finish times.

My phone died and I didn’t bring my watch, but I’m surprisingly fine with just knowing we did it. It was also fun to get a medal for 3rd in my age group. Part of me thought I might never place at a race again, but I think that was just irrational post-partum logic.

    

I have also finally settled on a nickname for my son on the blog. I love this hand-me-down shirt, and it’s perfect for our little speedster. He was born faster than I expected, and he’s kept me on my toes since. When you hear me refer to the Speedster or Speedy, this is the little guy I’m talking about. ๐Ÿ˜„

Our other big event was taking the Speedster to the state fair. He took it all in stride on opening day and happily did a lot of sleeping in the stroller. For my part I was thrilled with the areas set aside for nursing, changing, etc. If you are planning on taking a baby to the fair check out this link on breastfeeding facilities at the state fair. We used both the 107.1/WIC tent and the private rooms at Care & Assitance. Both were clean and comfortable and I didn’t have to wait at all. Certainly you can feed or change your baby anywhere throughout the grounds, but I appreciated have a quiet and comfortable place to get away from the crowd.

We toured exhibits, barns, and shops, and of course JR and I had our fill of too much fair food. Speedy will not be partaking until next year, and he was a little disappointed. 

  

I wholeheartedly love the late summer days of state fair, and the best thing ever is getting to share them. The fair continues to be a great place to connect and mingle, and we introduced several friends to Speedy for the first time. It will be scarier next year when I can’t contain him in a carrier or stroller the whole time, but I am still looking forward to seeing his little self running all over the fair.
In case you want to scroll through the obligatory photo log, here you go.

 
    
    
    
     
  

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Being a Mom, Christian Reflections, Family Fun, Race Reports, Running and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Our Little Speedster

  1. Kara Kasten-Olson says:

    Hi Lisa,

    Just wanted to say hi and that I love following along on your blog. Reid, my son will be a year on Sept 25th so they are pretty close in age! It sounds like you’re getting out to run a decent amount, good for you!! One random question, I saw you were wearing a refuel with chocolate milk shirt….just wondering how you became part of the team?

    Hope you’re doing well. Kara

  2. Perfect nickname! I personally love hearing about your little guy and your experience of motherhood. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Leave a Reply

