Child of God

God generously gave us this little chubby-legged miracle, and several weeks ago it was time to give him back. Give him back through the water and the word of baptism. Fortunately we still get to keep being his earthly parents! 

Of course JR and I bit off more than we could chew with our to-do list, and somehow it seemed wise to use baptism celebration as an excuse to check long overdue house projects off the list. 

I’ll just say two brief things. 1) Tiling a small bathroom still takes a long time. 2) It’s not good when overnight houseguests show up and you are still working on installing your new toilet. I thank Linda and Jim for their understanding. 

We did survive, the bathroom got finished, and we had a lovely church service. We also enjoyed grilled burgers, salads, beans, fruit, cake, beer, etc at our home in the afternoon. 

Little man wore JR’s baptism suit, vintage 1984, and even though he couldn’t wear the bonnet during baptism it may have been my favorite part. He was totally a serious baby for his close ups.

  
Because I promised baptism pictures in my last post I’ll go ahead and over share them in just a minute. First, I’ve got to say this.

My heart was so full on baptism day and it continues to be. God’s grace is so, so good. I know not everyone chooses infant baptism, but to me it is beautifully symbolic of how we all receive grace. We don’t deserve it, we don’t fully understand it, and we may question it. Being saved by grace through faith is still very real. There’s nothing we or he can ever do to earn God’s grace, and so we chose to baptize him early in life because Jesus calls us to baptize. It plants the first seed of faith in our little man’s life, and we as parents will nurture that faith through God’s grace. 

   

    
   
  

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Being a Mom, Family Fun and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Child of God

  1. Griffin looks a lot like you in that first closeup! I like your thoughts on infant baptism.

Leave a Reply

