Baby’s First Race

The town I grew up in has a 5K and 10K race every year over Fourth of July weekend, and I’d been eyeing it for awhile as Griffin’s first race. He loves riding in the Bob stroller and the miles are good for both of us. As long as the weather wasn’t stormy or unbearably hot we would go for it.
My running still hasn’t exactly been consistent, but I knew I could muddle my way through 3 miles. (Yes, definitely taking the 5K option this year!)
I stayed with my parents the night before and one of my sisters drove me to the start so I wouldn’t have to wrestle a car seat and Bob stroller on the bus. Point to point course.

  
It was a beautiful low humidity morning, though the sun warmed things up enough that I was still a sweaty mess by the end. G slept most of it and opened his eyes at me for only a few minutes in the middle. 

The only downside was the course is mostly on a bike path. I started in the back to be polite, but it was really narrow to weave through all the walkers for the first mile. My main goal was just to run a consistent pace and keep my baby happy, but I secretly hoped to be under 30 minutes. It wasn’t chip timed, so that didn’t help my cause. The race wasn’t huge though with only about 150 people.

I tried not to look at time too much, but I was happy with a 9:09 first mile. Final official time was 28:17, so I’m in a little better shape than I thought. And I was first place woman with stroller; if that would have been a category. 

My sister walked the 5K with her son, husband, and baby on the way. I think they were the true winners on Saturday!

Here’s some more scenes of all the fun. ๐Ÿ™‚

   
    
   
This week we are in major project mode at our house, we’re working away on the farm, and we are trying to get ready for baptism on Sunday. I’ve already wondered several times if I’ll survive the week, and the fact that we’ve just torn apart our upstairs bathroom doesn’t help. ๐Ÿ˜‰ I know we will survive though, and I’m looking forward to celebrating the gift of baptism. I’ll check in with you next week with more photos! 

 

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Being a Mom, Family Fun, Running, This and That and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Baby’s First Race

  1. Good job! I’ve only run one race with the stroller, but I did it with the hubs and he pushed most of the way. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Glad Griffin likes being in there so you can do some running. Emma didn’t, and that was frustrating. It got better as she got older though.

Leave a Reply

