Life is Beautiful 

I think I might be running slower now than I did with my 8 month pregnant belly. I say 8 months because I delivered a few weeks early, and I think my last run was almost a week before he was born. 

In any case, I’m not returning to speed quickly. I’m often pushing a running stroller on my runs now and even if I’m not my body does not feel fast. I decided it’s healthy to run slow and re-condition my cardiovascular system anyway. It’s helpful I can rationalize. 🙂 And my lovely nurse and doctor reminded me last week I’m only two months post-partum and need to be realistic. 

I feel pulled in a lot of directions right now, and I often think about how I should be cleaning (all the things) in the house, working on the yard/garden, organizing baby stuff, writing thank you’s, connecting with friends, being more involved / volunteering, or working on an endless list of actual work stuff for the farm. Or how I just want to sit down and cuddle my little baby. 

But running with the Bob stroller accomplishes several things. It lets me bond with and talk to G (or watch him sleep), and it helps me feel like myself. Even though I do get exercise at the farm I really crave time in my running shoes. No matter how physically tired I am I feel better when I manage several morning runs during the week. I’d like to say everyday, but that’s not happening yet.

Life can sometimes turn into a push and pull against lots of to-do’s, but I’m trying to find joy in more of those to-do’s. I can run, enjoy my baby, care for the animals, connect with my husband, and still keep my head above water at home, right? 

And even when I’m wrong and we end up with giant weeds in the yard and a garage too full to currently park in, I can still be joyful. Eventually the really important things get done, and if I put family first everything will balance out for the best. I’m especially grateful that caring for the little man doesn’t really feel like work. Even if I’m a tad stressed, I don’t feel like G adds to the stress. He makes me happy and makes me better. 

   
    
 
Some scenes from the past few weeks. The only one I have a caption for is the last one. These are “the boys of the house.” And I love them all to pieces! 

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Being a Mom, Calvin, Family Fun and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Life is Beautiful 

  1. “The cleaning and scrubbing can wait till tomorrow
    But children grow up as I’ve learned to my sorrow.
    So quiet down cobwebs; Dust go to sleep!
    I’m rocking my baby and babies don’t keep.”

    It’s hard to let things pile up and see so much left undone but it really is worth the tradeoff to snuggle a baby. Annabelle wouldn’t snuggle but Emma loved being held for naps. I had a hard time with it at times but looking back, I’m so glad I did it.

  2. Sami says:

    I have all the same thoughts still at 5 months post-partum. Our bodies are forever changed, and slower is just fine. I agree keeping up with laundry and housework is not as fun as cuddle time. Our house is pretty chaotic because we never fully unpacked from our move. I seemed so busy before baby, but now?!? I’m slowly accepting our house will move itself in, in time 🙂

    • Lisa says:

      I firmly believe that certain households tasks can and will just have to wait. I don’t like to live in complete chaos, but you’ve got to soak up all the special moments you can. 🙂

  3. smdsmyl says:

    Great post. I love the pics, gorgeous. You look great. The last one is so similar to one I have with hubs, baby girl, and dog in it, and that same “I used to be the baby in the house” look from the dog. Haha. Enjoy it as much as you can and take lots of pictures. We could spend all our time doing chores, but that wouldn’t make us happy even if the house was picture perfect, so do what makes you happy… work and chores will fall into place.

Leave a Reply

