DIY Newborn Photos

Before our little man was born multiple people suggested we do newborn photos with a baby calf. I wasn’t totally sure about the logistics, but I filed it away in my brain as a good idea. It could be fun when the time came. Right??

Shortly after the little man arrived JR’s sister gifted us a knit cow hat and bottom. This sealed the deal on what he would wear for said newborn calf photos. We didn’t schedule any professional maternity or newborn pictures, so I hoped these would be nice. Or at least that they wouldn’t turn into a complete disaster. Given the animal component on the farm I felt as confident in our ability to get good pictures as anybody. 

While JR and I carefully managed calf and baby we took turns snapping away from different angles. We did the pictures on April 15th with a heifer calf born the night before and our 19 day old son. 

Some notes: The calf needed to poop several times, and calves don’t do diapers. At least not well.  Calves also do not know what to make of a baby crying. Fortunately their instinct at this age is to burrow down further and hide. Once the tears intensified all parties were ready to be done. 

First, a few candids:

    

 
 Now for some of my favorites:

     
  

   
The most wrinkly baby!   

 
(1 new baby + 1 new calf) x (lots of patience + a little luck) = numerous images & newborn photoshoot success.

And that is the story of how we did newborn photos. 

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Being a Mom, Family Fun and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to DIY Newborn Photos

  1. Terzah says:

    Those are way cuter than any professional photo shot of a newborn that I’ve seen! You have to save them for his prom someday. šŸ™‚

  2. Rebecca says:

    Very cute! Haha, I like how determined you look in that second picture. “Work with me, calf!”

  3. They turned out great!

  4. Alica says:

    Sweet pictures!

Leave a Reply

