Visiting the farm and other outings

After a few days at home it was time for me to check on things at the farm – and more importantly – for Griffin to make his first visit. 

I promise I didn’t do any heavy lifting. We went on Friday, April 1st, and I checked on newborn calf records, caught up on entering data in the computer, walked through the calf barns, and talked to several employees. It felt weird to be in the barn as though everything was normal. These days almost seem like a dream, but then I look at my sweet boy resting in his car seat and know it is real. I am a mom now and forever. 

The real fun of our visit was walking around the farm with Griffin and showing him things. I know you’re looking forward to this picture tour too… 

   
 Thumbs up! 

   

    

Calvin was proud to lead the way around the farm and stay close to baby. Both he and Boo are settling in really well with the newest member of the family. We still watch them closely and we’ve laid down a lot of ground rules, but you can tell they already respect him as part of our little ‘pack.’ 

     
  

I hope our little guy likes animals! I feel truly fortunate that Griffin is also happy in the car. Even on trips home when he is impatient and hungry he will usually ride quietly as long as the car is moving. 

Yesterday both JR and I took him shopping, and he handled the noise and activity like a pro. Until he got wet and hungry. I took a quick break to nurse and change him – in the backseat of the car no less – and he was happy enough until we got to the checkout line. I think we were both terrified he would cry the whole forty minute drive home, but once the wheels were in motion he  settled right in. Until we hit a stoplight. On cue he would start fussing each time we stopped at a red but calm down as we started moving again. We are lucky most of the drive was uninterrupted four lane! 

He is now two weeks old and we’ve actually done quite a bit of traveling including multiple trips to the farm, two doctor’s appointments, church, and a few shopping trips. 

It’s hard for me to wrap my head around everything that’s changed in the past two weeks or even articulate how I feel. The tiredness is definitely real, especially because he’s such a night owl. I am sore and jiggly, and that is also real. I didn’t realize what a luxury it was to shower, brush my teeth, and pee without being interrupted. These things are basically non-issues compared to the magic of snuggling my little baby. Or just as good, watching him snuggled up and happy on JR’s chest. 

There is a lot to do at home, at the farm, and everywhere, but I know I won’t get these precious days back. I could simply hold this baby all day long and never tire of it. So for now I’m working on striking a balance between doing enough of the basics and soaking up every happy second with my son. 

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Being a Mom, Boo the bulldog, Calvin, Family Fun and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Visiting the farm and other outings

  1. Yes enjoy it! You’ll never get that time back.

Leave a Reply

