Spring Days

All indications are pointing to an early spring this year. Normally I try   not to assume a lot in March – because March can definitely be a month of blizzards – but it’s been mild enough for several weeks to melt every speck of snow and take most of the frost out of the ground. 

The forecast shows the warm trend continuing for the next few weeks, and by the end of March I suspect our danger of a heavy snow actually sticking around long is small.

My belly continues to expand as the weather warms, and the cows are even starting to notice it now that it’s not buried under jackets. 

  
Okay, I doubt the cows actually notice my growing belly, but this lady was looking at it!

I also love the melted off landscape and extending daylight because it makes it easier for me to run. I’m still waddling a few miles several times per week, and I plan to keep at it unless things don’t feel right. I continue stretching and doing yoga when I can in addition to a lot of walking and activity on the farm, and I think these things have helped my running stay reasonably comfortable. 

About four miles has become my new max over the past month, and I admit I miss longer spring runs because normally I’m training for a marathon or half marathon at this time of year. I’m definitely at peace with it though, and I don’t feel the need to ‘prove’ anything by running for multiple hours. I admire women who keep up longer distances throughout pregnancy, but I’m tired enough, busy enough, and unwieldy enough that it’s not for me. 

I took this picture a few mornings ago on my favorite gravel road, and I’m happy to still be out enjoying it.

  
Happy spring to you, and I hope you’re enjoying the sights, smells, and sounds of new life this spring as much as we are here in Minnesota. It is a time of new blessings, fresh growth, and much to be thankful for. 

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), Cows, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spring Days

  1. I’ve been loving this weather!

Leave a Reply

