Christmas in the Country Exchange

Connecting with others has always been one of the things I enjoy about blogging, and this year I participated in a blogger’s Christmas exchange that let me do just that. 

Christmas in the Country is for rural and farm bloggers, and we were each encouraged to learn about our person as we put together their gift. It was fun to look through posts, photos, and social media clues about my draw and know that someone else was doing the same for me! 

My gift traveled from Ohio, and I was grateful and impressed with everything inside. It came from Jess @ Cultivated with Love, thank you again! 

  
The first thing I noticed were the great aromas coming from the package.

I got a bag of Ohio roasted coffee which is great because in my household we go through a lot of coffee, and good stuff never lasts long. Even though I’m pregnant my doctor is okay with small amounts of caffeine, so I can keep enjoying a little cup on cold winter mornings. 

The warm mittens are probably my favorite item because they are so cozy. Knitted on the outside and fleecy on the inside, these are awesome for snuggling my fingers into anytime. I won’t wear them in the barn because they’re too pretty, but I may use them for winter running when the weather is really cold. 

The snowflake ziplock is full of several homemade soaps, and the lavender in them is so pleasant and soothing. I love the scent of lavender, and I’m not even sure how Jess knew! I really appreciated the thoughtful note she included with gifts too. 

I also had fun picking out items for my recipent, Val @ Corn, Beans, Pigs, Kids. She is an Iowa mom and pig farmer, so one of the things I sent was a jar of our homegrown and homemade sauerkraut. ๐Ÿ™‚ You can see everything I sent by visiting her post above.

Both of these ladies were fun to get to know through their blogs, and the exchange as a whole is wonderful for those of us in the country who sometimes get more isolated during the long winter months. 

Thanks again to the Christmas in the Country organizers for helping us connect during this happy season. 

Laurie @ Country LINKED
Lara @ My Other More Exciting Self (isn’t this a great literary-inspired name??) 
Jamie @ This Uncharted Rhoade
Kirby @ 15009 Farmhouse

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), This and That and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Christmas in the Country Exchange

  1. What a fun gift Jessy sent you! I love homemade soaps. They just smell so good. I am very excited that you jointed us this year Lisa. I have enjoyed getting to know you and will be a follower of your great blog. All the best in 2016!
    Laurie – Country Link

  2. MNGobbleGal says:

    Hi Lisa! I just love all the gifts you received from Jessy – especially those mittens. I know you will use those around here in Minnesota! ๐Ÿ™‚ I am also so glad you participated this year and it sounds like you had a great experience – my favorite part is getting to visit other blogs and “meeting” other bloggers. I’ll be thinking of you in the coming months – I am just so excited about your baby news and look forward to seeing your photos / posts! Take care! Lara – My Other More Exciting Self

    • Lisa says:

      Yes, I especially appreciate those lovely mittens now that it’s been below zero for the last few days!
      I can’t believe I’m only a few months away from baby arriving; I have a lot to do yet but even more to be excited and thankful for!

  3. J. Rhoades says:

    Hi Lisa! First of all congratulations on your new addition, how exciting! We had a lot of pregnant ladies this year, must be something in the water, lol. I’m so glad you were able to participate this year – it looks like you got a really awesome gift, and the one you sent to Val was spot on too! Thanks for sharing and linking up!

  4. Kirby Lichte says:

    Lisa – what a great post…. Thanks for participating in this years exchange. Hope you and your family have a great 2016.

  5. Kirby Lichte says:

    Lisa – Congrats on your new baby…. You are do have a lot to celebrate in 2016. Great post about the exchange, thanks so much for participating, we all really appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

