Little Kicks

During December with the Christmas season and coming new year I usually find myself doing some reflecting. No matter what the past year brought there is always much to be thankful for in the moment and to plan and work toward in the future. 

To get right to the point, this December I’m doing some extra special planning as I give thanks. That planning has less to do with me and more to do with the small kicks I’m starting to feel more and more in my belly. JR and I are excited, nervous, and feeling a lot of amazement that we are going to be parents in the spring!

People often think of baby animals and new life on a farm in spring, and it seems nicely fitting to me that we will welcome our first baby just as the trees and fields come back to life after Minnesota winter. And yes, it will stay ‘baby’ until then because we decided to wait and be surprised on whether it’s a boy or girl. (Of course I am beyond curious to know, but I just feel it’s right for us to wait for the surprise.) 

My due date is April 8th, which makes me just over 24 weeks. I will be 25 weeks exactly on December 25th. I’ve been quiet about my pregnancy here and on social media until now mainly because I wanted to keep the news special and share it with family and friends before they found out on the internet. We did an announcement in our Christmas cards this year, and now also feels like the right time to share with all of you who read the blog. 

I know a lot of you are parents yourselves, so I’m looking forward to some good first-time-mom advice please! I have started researching infant gear and organizing a few things for baby’s room, but I still feel a little behind the curve. 

Once Christmas is over I hope to start more seriously cleaning,  organizing, and making some choices about what we’ll need. But I also don’t intend to let decorating and all the stuff drive me crazy. ๐Ÿ™‚ Loving and caring for our child and each other is the most important, and I hope to keep a clear focus on that whenever things get overwhelming. 

In case you are curious, I have been taking a few pictures along the way. Here’s a look at the bump.

 

And this is from our Christmas pictures in the yard two weeks ago.  
Aside from being generally exhausted and a lot of foods tasting off during first trimester I have had a pretty smooth pregnancy. I’m thankful I’ve been able to keep working mostly as normal, even if it is getting harder to bend over for things like feeding new calves. For some jobs I do need to go slower or modify, and if I really need help I ask someone. 

We have had a lot of new calves this month so I’ve found myself assisting in more deliveries than normal. My belly doesn’t get in the way too much yet, and I definitely feel a stronger connection to the mother cows as they labor than I used to. I guess pregnant creatures of all kinds feel a kinship with each other. 

My doctor has assured me so far it’s good for me to have an active pregnancy, so in addition to farming I’m still running, doing yoga, and trying to keep my body in shape for baby. I’ve certainly decreased my pace and mileage as needed, and I do take more days off from structured exercise if I’m busy/active at work. Still, I feel better when I’m running at least a few days per week, and I’ll keep it up as long as it feels ok. 

The nice December has meant I’m still running outside when I can, but if it’s icy or too cold and dark I will be safe on my treadmill. Yoga does help with the new aches and pains I seem to be developing, and when I get to class my teacher is great about helping me modify as necessary. Now that baby has started to move more it’s easier to feel connected, and I do spend time just sitting in wonder at the life growing right inside me. The moments and the whole journey truly are an amazing blessing.

That’s my big update for now, and I know I’ll keep sharing about baby in addition to regular blog content. In the meantime, if you have any suggestions for me about pregnancy, getting ready for baby, or advice you appreciated yourself I will welcome your comments! 

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Family Fun, This and That and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Little Kicks

  1. CONGRATS!! That is so exciting. My main advice is to not worry about figuring it all out before the baby comes – because even when you *think* you know, you realuze you don’t! The best way is to learn as you go and to not worry about doing things the “right” way. Do what you can handle and are comfortable with and let the rest go. You’re going to be great parents!!

  2. Rebecca says:

    Congrats! I always think it’s fun when parents wait to be surprised with the sex of the baby.

  3. I can remember those first baby kicks — very exciting! At times, it felt like I was riding a roller coaster. I know those little kicks will continue to grow stronger as you go along. Now, very close to 38 weeks, my belly is definitely in the way of everything! What was helpful to me, is receiving advice from friends with kids on what they used/put on their registry. Like you, we didn’t want to get caught up on the “things.” I used their advice to focus on the necessities. I wish you a continued healthy pregnancy. Can’t wait to see if you welcome a son or daughter in the spring!

    • Lisa says:

      That is good advice too. In spite of not wanting piles of stuff I know there are a good deal of necessities our little bundle will need. I can’t believe you are just about ready to meet your daughter! Are you hoping for a December baby, or are you content to wait a few weeks? (Not that you have too much choice.) ๐Ÿ˜„

      • Sami says:

        I’m not-so-secretly hoping for a January baby. The garnet birthstone is beautiful, and reminds me of my Grandmother. You’re right though. We’ve got to be ready for anything!

  4. J. Rhoades says:

    Congrats! I’m due with our first as well – on February 12th – so soon! I’ve spent way more hours than I’d like to admit doing research on what you really need for a baby as well, if I find any definite keepers or things that aren’t worth it I’ll try to let you know! Also, I love that you didn’t find out the gender. We didn’t either, and it’s so exciting! I’ve gotten such positive feedback about not finding out, especially from the older generation. It seems like no one keeps it a surprise anymore, so it’s fun to be one of the few. Best of luck with your new little one this spring!

    • Lisa says:

      Congratulations to you! I do think there is a lot of fun and wonder in waiting to find out whether baby is a son or daughter! I hope this last month goes as smooth as possible for you, Jamie.

Leave a Reply

