November Running and Rain

We’ve had several solid days of drizzle and rain here, and I heard on the radio we are already getting close to the wettest Novembers on record. Still, I will not complain because it’s not snow! 

Snow is okay with me in due time, but in my mind that means mid-December. We also got a beautiful break in the rain showers this morning where sunshine and rainbows radiated through the clouds.
   

    
   
I’m grateful the rain held off until now because I really appreciated the beautiful weather on Saturday for running. 

Several friends and I were signed up for a Jingle Bell 5K, and the day couldn’t have been better. I even opted for shorts in November.
We met for coffee and breakfast beforehand because the race didn’t start until 10:00. It felt strange but nice to not rush around in the pre-dawn hours on a race morning. (I did leave home in the dark, but oh well.) We were treating it as a fun run without specific time goals, and we ran together much of the way.

  
  
I’m impressed both of these ladies ran in full Christmas hats. I opted to look more like a holiday gift in my ribbon headband. 

  

Here we are powering through the finish!
  
We finished in a little over 28:00 and tried to smile extra big for the camera. Several booths were handing out food, water, and goodies after and we all got a box of chocolates. Even though there weren’t official awards I was pretty excited about my sweets!

I’m not sure if this will be my last race of the year or not, but if so it’s a nice note to end on. I’ve rarely done a race just for fun with friends, and it is refreshing not to put pressure on myself. I still like competing and going after goals, but every race doesn’t have to be about chasing a PR. Sometimes you’ve got to remind yourself of the basics and why you love to do something. 
Will you compete in any races yet this year –maybe a turkey trot or holiday run? 

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), Race Reports, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

