The Blog Cow and Baby Number Three

It has been a beautiful start to November. We’ve got most of the normal autumn warmth of September, and I’m choosing to believe winter is still a ways in the distance.

Last year, you might remember we went from this to this between Novemeber 9th and 10th.

   
 
I am happy to report November 10th this year is green, and we reached nearly 60 degrees. We also poured cement today, so I’m very glad the weather cooperated.

  
The other big farm news lately is Henrietta, our blog cow, gave birth to her third calf. It was a bull calf this time around, and he was born in the wee hours of November 6th. I was thwarted once again in my effort to get a picture with Etta and baby together. Each time she has delivered early in the morning, and each time it has been a day when I didn’t get to the farm until later. (The early calf person arrives about 5:00 a.m., and I don’t come that early unless I’m working solo that morning or there is a problem.) 

I did get a nice close-up of our new arrival though. He’s already walking around easily and eating very well. 

 
Here’s mom at the feed bunk this morning, which is an important place for her to be!

   
You can see there isn’t much feed left, and she’s actually turning her ears toward the sound of the skid loader and feed wagon. The loader cleans up the remaining leftovers from yesterday, and the feed wagon brings freshly mixed feed. 

I hope you can also continue to enjoy autumn as long as possible –no matter what temperature and weather that means for you! 

What are you keeping busy with in November? 

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Cows, Henrietta (Etta for short!) and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

