End of the Season

Sometimes you are tired, and words don’t always come out right. See example below:

   
 
Did you know that these tasty green bites are named after the Belgian city? 

Our garden is mostly empty of produce now, but we still have a few of these hearty sprouts to pick and use up. We have had a few frosts in the past two weeks, but for this late in the season I’m surprised we still haven’t had a truly hard frost. I think one morning last week was about 25*, and that’s as low as it goes. I am loving this mild and beautiful October.

We opened one of the sauerkraut crocks over the weekend and were pleased with the results. Thank goodness! We packed some in jars to keep cold in the fridge — and theoretically let the good bacteria keep up a slow fermentation. We canned about 10 quarts in boiling water bath so they would be easy to store and not overtake our whole refrigerator. 

  
Our little kitchen: Nothing fancy but she gets the job done. Someday I do hope to get rid of the carpet!

We didn’t grow pumpkins this year, so I have nothing to add to the annual fall recipe craze. I will probably buy a bunch of canned pumpkin to make muffins and pie anyway. I count my dad as an expert  pumpkin grower, and he gave us plenty of nice jack-o-lantern varieties to make our house look festive. 

  

This is from last fall at my parents, but you get the effect, right?

I hope you’re all enjoying October as well. Soak up the warmth while you can, and give those tractors and trucks a little extra room on the roads if you live near farm country. We all thank you! 

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), Crops, Gardening and Yard Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

