The Work of Worry

Worry is such a bother! Maybe that’s too clearly stating the obvious for the beginning of a post, but I will say it anyway.

I know certain amounts of stress or ‘worry’ are valuable physiologically because they help us react in important or dangerous situations and motivate us in others. Too much worry, though, is counterproductive. Usually I come down in a healthy spot between these two places, but I still question the future and other unknowns more than I should.

Farming and harvest can do that to you — even with all the goodness they bring –but sometimes I even worry about silly things like the mess in my laundry room and the stains I still need to scrub out of the basement sink or the carpet. 

When I pray I know deeply that God wants me to trust and follow instead of cling to my worries. He will take care of our farm and our family, and He might even have other things in His plan that I can’t even imagine yet. 

I’m human and I will continue to make mistakes my entire life, so maybe I should take a small comfort in those imperfections? I can’t worry about everything turning out ‘perfect and right’ according to my plan because it won’t, but I can feel secure that the larger plan is better. 

This post isn’t meant to be melancholy, just honest. I haven’t written a lot this fall, so it seems fitting to end by showing you some of the goodness and beauty I can and should be focusing on this season.

   
    
 

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), Baby Calf Care, Christian Reflections and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Work of Worry

  1. You’re right — the only surefire cure I’ve found for worry is trusting God with it all, both big and small things. Definitely worth the fight!

Leave a Reply

