Wisconsin and back

Hello readers, and greetings from Wisconsin! Actually I’m back in Minnesota as I write this, but I was in Wisconsin when I was thinking about writing it.

We spent several days this week in Madison taking in the sights, cattle, and giant trade show of World  Dairy Expo. It is astounding the array of machinery, milking equipment, calf care products, building innovations, veterinary supplies, and other dairy industry stuff you can find to explore. You can also find beautiful rural art, notecards, and farm signs in addition to plenty of food and snacks. You end up wanting things you didn’t even know you needed! Kind of like a race expo. 

  
We also picked up our new-to-us calf milk pasteurizer in southern Wisconsin and returned home with a very full pickup truck. (That black box in the way back is a dishwasher from my sister who lives near Madison. I’m pretty much thrilled with the prospect of less time doing dishes.)

  

  
Southwest Wisconsin is rolling and beautiful dairy country with roads that keep you guessing around every bend. The farmers and milk truck drivers of the area must have nerves of steel during icy winters. 

Any dairy event means we run into friends and fellow farmers — even when we cross state lines. It’s great to talk and catch up, and usually we always get a new idea or learn something we can bring back and try on our own farm. We also have friends who bring cattle out to the show, and it’s fun to see their beautiful bovines. 

In case you’re intetested, I didn’t run a single step in Wisconsin. That’s mostly because we did so much walking everyday, but I also wasn’t excited about running in our busy hotel area in the dark. Normally I love running in new places when I’m out of town, so I was a little disappointed in myself. I suppose Madison isn’t really new to me though, and I’ve run here several times before during expo. I’ll just have to work a little bit harder to take advantage of the perfect October weather now that I’m back home. 

Speaking of October, I think it snuck up extra quickly this year. Happy fall, and I hope you enjoyed this little glimpse into World Dairy Expo. 

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), Cows, Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

