Last of Summer

You wouldn’t know it by the warm, breezy sunshine covering our farm, but I think the last right of summer has passed. What does that mean exactly?

Well, to me it means September is here, school has started again, and that last right of summer for Minnesota — state fair — is done for another year. 

I do love fall, and I’m ready for harvest, pumpkins, sweatshirts, and autumn leaves etc. But before I jump into fall I’ve got to recap our day at the state fair. We managed to spend over twelve hours last Wednesday soaking in the fair, and we hung out with my parents who came to see the open class dairy cattle show. 

I started the day with French toast and berries covered in fresh whipped cream and then got my real breakfast fix with a Turkey to Go breakfast sandwich filled with delicious shredded meat, eggs, and cheese. 

As you might suspect, the eating continued most of the day. We had fun exploring both traditional and new exhibits, and we decided to ride the Ye Old Mill for its 100th anniversary at the fair. 

   
   

I always need to get dairy at the dairy goodness bar! 

We spent much of the afternoon and evening watching the glamorous dairy show cows, browsing the barns, and catching up with many friends. The state fair is a big place, but I love how we always see familiar faces when we get close to the livestock barns!

   
   

Mom and I enjoying a handy state fair bench. 

Every year I wonder how many miles we walk at the fair, and I keep forgetting to do something about my curiosity. Sometime I’ll remember a fully charged GPS watch so I can finally get an answer.

Until next year, stay cool #mnstatefair! 

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), Cows, Family Fun and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

