A Running Update 

It’s been awhile since I’ve done an update on my running and training, and as summer winds down it seems like a good time to circle back. 

During summer the warm temperatures and busy season on our farm usually mean I’m running a little less, but I’m still keeping at it. That was again the case this year. Though I’m thankful for the long daylight hours that allow for sunrise or sunset runs!

After my May marathon – where I was thrilled with my finish – I definitely scaled things back to recover. I think I took about one week completely off and then did two or three easy runs during the next few weeks. I felt good with no injury worries to speak of, but somehow the busyness of summer weekends mixed with farming, gardening, family, etc took over a lot of my running time. I’ve still been running several times a week through the summer, but my marathon endurance has long since faded. I did an eight mile run a few weeks ago, and it truly felt like a long way. But, that’s okay! I think it’s good to balance things out and have lower mileage seasons. I’m enjoying my running right now, and that is always my biggest goal. 

I did manage to run a few races this summer including a 5K in my town and a “4 mile” in the middle of July for my birthday. The 5K was a small and friendly race which I enjoyed running for the second time. It was extra fun because I crossed the finish line as the first female.

The “4 mile” is quite an established race in the area, but for some reason there was confusion among runners, signs, and volunteers, and many of us took a wrong turn and ran at least an extra 1/3 of a mile. It was still really fun to race on my birthday and get third place as I entered a new age group. The heat and humidity were so thick that morning I was glad the race wasn’t any longer than it was!

  

Post-race on my 30th birthday

Right now I honestly don’t have any races on my calendar. I’m enjoying the cool mornings we’ve been having lately, and I’m excited for the crisp days and colors of fall running. I might look around for a 10K or even a shorter trail race, but I’m content to see how the fall goes.

I’m still going to yoga class and practicing a little at home to keep working on flexibility, strength, and balance. Or sometimes it’s just about the relaxation! Either way it balances well with running. I’m also hopeful JR and I will take our bikes for a spin or two while the weather is still nice. Earlier this summer we finally biked two towns over, and I suspect we could go a lot farther (and more often) if we planned out the time.

  
That’s all I’ve got for a summer running and fitness update. What do you have on your race calendar for this fall? 

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Running Update 

  1. I am really itching to do a half marathon but I’m just not in shape enough for one this fall. I’m going to do a 10k the first weekend of Oct and hopefully a Turkey Trot but that’ll probably be it until spring.

Leave a Reply

