The Thick of Summer

We are indeed in the thick of summer, right?

Early August is beautiful, and in our pocket of the state it means the small grains – wheat, oats, rye, and barley – are nearly all harvested and livestock farmers like us are finishing baling straw in the golden yellow fields. These round bales actually aren’t ours, but as I jogged by them the other morning they were too pretty to pass by.

  
Our garden is producing with a healthy vengeance, and we’re barely keeping up with picking and eating or freezing the tasty results. 

Unfortunately something — I’m looking at you, deer — ate my whole row of tender little beets, and they were honestly gone without a trace. I’ll have to be more vigilant next year. The tomatoes, peppers, and cabbages are thriving, and I think we will actually have brussel sprouts this year. (If you are anywhere near me, please come and ask me for some peppers! I’ve got sweet and hot varieties; you pick or I pick. Either way.)

  
  

I also made some spicy zucchini refrigerator pickles on a whim and was happy with the result. Crunchy, sour, and spicy.

  
In other news, I spent a few days helping with our community Vacation Bible School last week. I don’t think it’s fair to post pictures of unsuspecting kids on my blog, so trust me when I say 200+ kids in the summer playing and learning about Jesus is fun and grand chaos!

I’ll leave you with a photo of one of my newest favorite calves. She’s part Brown Swiss, and she arrived a week overdue on August 7th. I think she already looks like a boss cow.

  

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), Baby Calf Care, Cooking and Foods, Gardening and Yard Stuff and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

