The Milk Comment

“Lisa, thanks to your teachings, I no longer feel guilty about passing up the $6.99/gal organic milk for conventional.”

Well, wow. Honestly. This comment was written to me in passing on social media last week, and it made me stop and take notice. It was from a friend I made through our mutual interests in running and health and fitness. She is urban, and I’m rural. She’s a working mom, and I’m a farmer. But we both run marathons and care about the foods we eat.

Now please don’t get mad at me if you prefer organic milk. If you want to buy organic, that’s cool. If you don’t buy organic, that is also 100% fine. No need to feel guilty about saving those dollars. If you don’t drink a lot of milk maybe cheese or yogurt is more your style? Even if you don’t eat dairy, I can still be your friend.

The thing that made me excited about this comment is my friend has less worry in her food choices. Over time our exchange of info means she has a glimpse into my farm, and she has a little more insight into the milk in the dairy case. That’s amazing to me.

Our information sharing goes both ways because she is a much more accomplished runner than I am!

On my blog my goal isn’t to tell you what to eat or make you more confused about food choices and labels. I just want to be a resource. I hope you can all get adequate protein and calcium in your diet. Your muscles and bones need it. I hope you can eat foods that you feel good about to fuel yourself and stay healthy. I also hope you can enjoy the taste, texture, and variety of many foods because food is delicious. That’s what I want for you. I don’t want a twisted undercover video or an activist with an agenda to make you question everything you know about food.

   

 

Sure, farming and food processing aren’t always glamorous. There is a lot of labor involved, and we grow a lot of food in the dirt after all! I just want you to feel empowered to shop without fear.

 I hate that so many of my friends now agonize over organic, non-GMO, and free range labels. It doesn’t have to be that way. Choose it or not, but don’t let anyone make you feel guilty or less worthy because of a LABEL. We have a very safe and very highly regulated food supply. Choose on nutrition, variety, budget, etc and remember that organic does not necessarily mean healthier. I do think the regular veggies I grow and the dairy and meat I eat are a better choice than an organic bag of crisps or chips.

We all want to make a difference, and as a young woman on a farm I feel compelled to spend some of my free time sharing what I do. 

As a woman it’s easy to feel bombarded by the media, to feel judged for our body, our clothes, and yes, even our food choices. I get that. I’m not a dietician or a doctor, so I can only talk about what I know. 

Here’s what I know about the milk we produce. We take care of our cows, we enjoy them, and we believe in good feed, housing, and medical care. This translates into nutritious milk and dairy foods. Just like (or maybe exactly!) the ones in a refrigerator near you.

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), Cooking and Foods, Cows and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Milk Comment

  1. illoura says:

    What a surprise today – finding a realistic view into life on a dairy farm. Your dedication to sharing the journey and day-to-day of a cow, featuring her offspring and the milk barn/parlor area, all those things I always wondered about (and secretly loved), is a huge thrill, thanks!!
    I’m very new to Minnesota (SE corner) from the dry southwest, and I’m loving all the green here – love seeing your beautiful cows surrounded by it too!
    I appreciate knowing ‘farmers’ (all kinds!) here are taking huge strides toward lessening the anti-biotic use, trying things to lesson our impact on or to improve the quality of the ecosystems, etc., etc., but none of that compares to seeing contented animals living close to the way nature intended- with a more natural diet, experiencing changes in the weather, and knowing an attentive human touch. Thanks for sharing all of this, (it also makes me feel a whole lot better about drinking milk -been avoiding it now for 10 years!)

Leave a Reply

