Birthday Kuchen

My husband has quite a bit of German heritage in him. He studied German in high school, and he has visited the country on several occasions. Rarely he will refer to me as fräulein. (Which technically isn’t correct because I should be Frau, and the internet tells me fräulein is outdated anyway.) Oh well.

JR had his birthday this week, and he doesn’t have near the sweet tooth I do. He will occasionally eat the cookies and muffins I bake, but he prefers protein to carbs. We had some long days baling hay surrounding his birthday, so now three days later we finally had cake. When your husband is German and he prefers coffee over cake you get creative. Actually, he told me a few months ago I should make real Black Forest Cake sometime, and his birthday seemed like a good time to oblige. 

Enter Schwarzwald Kirsch Kuchen or Black Forest Cherry Cake.

I searched the internet for recipe ideas, and I finally settled on this one. The author says this. “As a German woman it breaks my heart to see all these ‘Black Forest Cakes’ in North America made with sickeningly sweet icing and gross cherry pie filling. This cake isn’t meant to be very sweet but rather a dessert for adults with deep rich flavors and enough alcohol to make your head spin!”

I knew this was the cake as long as I could find the correct Kirschwasser or ‘cherry water’ the recipe called for. After visiting several stores and having the clerks shake their head at me, I finally procured a 750 mL bottle. For the record, I only used about the half the alcohol the cake called for, and it was plenty potent!

With ingredients like tart cherries, espresso, dark chocolate shavings and barely sweet cream JR thought it was a the best birthday cake I’ve ever made him. I often just purchase ice cream cake, so there’s not actually much to compare it to.

The cake also sat in the refrigerator for the flavors to blend longer than I planned — 3 days. So goes farm life. I waited on making the cream frosting until serving, and it worked out fine and delicious. 

   
   

Happy Birthday to my sweet husband, and many more! 

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cooking and Foods, Family Fun and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

