Another Summer Day

I couldn’t think of a thing to title tonight’s post, so this will have to do!

It was a gorgeous Minnesota day, and I’m really grateful the hot, hot, hot weather from last week is over. I suppose all of you who live further south are rolling your eyes at my definition of “hot,” and you might be justified. I don’t think I could survive in the heat and humidity of the Deep South. Anyway, we had dew points in the 70’s and temperatures around 90. Every other day it seemed like we would get rain, and then it would be right back to as humid, hot, and sticky as before. For this northern girl that’s hot, hot, hot!

Sometimes weather pushes overdue projects to the forefront, and in the heat last week we finished hanging another batch of fans in the barn. We also installed a whole new wall of fans for our holding pen, which is the area behind the milking parlor where each group of cows waits before being milked.

     

  

I know I’m grubby here, but I was still happy! 

This week we have been busy in the hay fields, and we finished all the chopping tonight. It also happens to be JR’s birthday, but I don’t think he minded working. I suspect having nice weather to make hay is as good a way to celebrate as any. I’m trying to make the perfect German Black Forest Cake for his birthday, and the result is likely to be my next blog post. 

 

My garden update is also encouraging. The peppers are coming in full force in spite of the deer who keep eating their leaves. We’ve had a few ambitious tomatoes, and the radishes and kohlrabi are already done for the year. I’m also glad I remembered to plant cilantro. Fresh diced peppers, tomato, onion, and cilantro are so easy and so delicious.  

  

I don’t know why summer moves at breakneck speed, but here we are already approaching August. I’m still especially thankful for this summer because I feel I’ve learned and reflected more than normal. Aside from the farm I’ve had a lot going on in my family life. I’ll be honest and say some of it is very hard. I wish I could fix everyone’s hurts, struggles, and illnesses, but of course I can’t. I can listen and provide support and hope, and I’m back at peace that it will be enough. God will help me, and His love is enough for all of us. If you pray I ask that you’ll pray for myself and my family to know and believe that.

As always, thanks for reading. I wish you a wonderful summer evening, and so do these little ladies. 

  

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

