Thankful for Thirty

I’ll get right to the point. Today I turn thirty. No longer can I classify myself as a twenty- something. I’m ok with entering a new decade, but thirty sounds more grown-up than I feel. Thirty sounds serious, and I don’t intend to let myself get too serious! Then I think of the seventy and eighty-somethings I know who are still young at heart, and I know I shouldn’t worry about a simple number. Nothing magically changes today, and I don’t expect to see grey hairs overnight. 😉

More than anything I know I can be thankful for each passing day, year, and decade. I can find joy every day if I choose. With that, I’m going to share thirty things I’m thankful for. Only a few relate to being thirty, but they are all part of who I am.

1) Family. These are in no particular order, but family still has to top the list. Everyone from my husband, sisters, and parents to extended family and in-laws on all sides.

2) Friends. Whether you are related or not, I am so grateful for all the people I count as friends.

3) Food. I love that we were created to eat and enjoy such a variety of foods. I also love getting together for meals and conversation.

4) Words. I like to read, write, and talk, and words let me do that. I also think other languages are beautiful, and I keep working on my Spanish.

5) Minnesota. I am a lifelong Minnesotan, and I don’t expect that to change any time soon!

6) Calvin and Boo. Our dogs always make me smile, even when they’re getting in trouble.

7) The Church and my church. I’m grateful for the larger Church of believers across the world as well as my own local church.

8) My husband. I suppose JR should get his very own reason!  

9) Running. I really do love tying on my running shoes and just getting out there. I even enjoy watching track and running events.

10) Chocolate milk. It’s delicious and goes hand in hand with number 9!

11) Coffee. And tea and all the other warm beverages I like. I especially don’t think I could get through winter without a steaming mug of coffee each morning.

12) Cows. They are friendly and curious, and they are our livelihood.


13) Our garden. I love the fresh vegetables and the progress we make working together.

14) Travel. Visiting someplace new or returning to a favorite spot are both things I am always grateful for.

15) Pictures. I enjoy capturing memories on camera, and I’m starting to get better at taking nice ones.

16) Baking. Sometimes you just need fresh pastry, muffins, or chocolate chip cookies. At least I do!

17) University of Minnesota. I am a golden gopher always, and I have happy memories of college days whenever I step on campus.

18) Our military men and women. I am so thankful for each person who serves. Words aren’t really adequate to say thank you.

19) Music. I love so many different styles and songs. It can keep me company while driving, working, or on the run. I also like creating music when I sit down at the piano.

20) Shoes. This might seem ridiculous, but it’s true! Boots make farm work and winter better, and the right running shoes are key. I also appreciate fabulous heels.

21) Books. I have been a book lover as long as I can remember. Even if it’s been awhile since I’ve read something the pages wait for me.

22) Movies. JR is a big fan of movie night, and I like the buttered popcorn and candy. (I like the show too!)

23) Minnesota Twins. They are my hometown team, and no matter what their record is I will stay loyal.  

24) Sun, moon, and stars. Who doesn’t love a sunrise or the beauty of a glittering night sky?

25) Cheese. I could eat cheese and crackers all day, and I use it in so many delicious foods. Also, one word. Pizza.

26) Lakes. I know the ocean is bigger, but when you’re from Minnesota you’ve got to appreciate the lake. It gives you fishing, swimming, relaxing, and a fabulous view.

27) Yoga. Even though I’m still a beginner I really enjoy the mental and physical benefits.

28) Seasons. I like the changing temperatures, leaves, and landscapes of four distinct seasons.

29) Pepé the cow. I was asking JR for ideas, and he said I must be thankful for her. Even though I already mentioned cows, I’ll give her a special spot. 

30) A new age group. I’ve now entered the 30-39 division for races, and theoretically that gives me a better chance for awards. A lot of 30-something women are actually faster and more competitive than the younger groups, so we’ll see how this works out! I’m actually running a local 4-mile this very morning.

Thirty things and now that I’m warmed up I realize I could easily add more. I’m always amazed by how much good is out there when I take the time to recognize it. Here’s to thirty. I know it can be the start of a year with even more things to be thankful for.

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Family Fun, This and That and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thankful for Thirty

  1. Sami says:

    When I turned 30, I said I was going to “look back with gratitude and forward with enthusiasm.” This mindset set me up for my best year yet. You’ll no doubt have a stellar year too! I enjoyed reading your reflection. Welcome to the 30 club 🎂

Leave a Reply

