Summer Days

July is coming quickly, and that means our summer is speeding by and the days are already getting shorter again. I’m glad I also really love fall!

I know I’m as behind on summer yard and garden work as ever, but for some reason I feel differently about it this year. Instead of rushing through the garden and trying in vain to keep up, I’m enjoying my time there more. I still don’t like weeds, but I’m appreciating the healthy rows of vegetables and the flowers blooming in bright nooks and corners around the yard. I suppose it also helps that I’ve been taking time to douse myself in bug spray before I tackle weeding or watering in the evenings!

Here’s a little look around.

  
   
 

  
I wasn’t kidding when I said we’re still behind on the weeds, though we’ve made substantial progress since this picture. Hopefully next time I’ll have some actual produce to showcase! 

Of course we’ve been busy making hay and farming, and those things must come first. It’s beautiful to watch the sun set over a hay field as the trucks and chopper work together to harvest the green rows. 

 

Summer can make for long hours, but that doesn’t mean we never get away. I’m a devoted Twins fan, and we got to spend a gorgeous afternoon with friends last week watching the Twins play baseball. I think this is the first time JR and I have been to a game at Target Field where they actually won. It was bound to happen eventually, right?! 

   
  

I hope you are also finding a good mix between work, fun, and projects this summer. What do you hope to get accomished before September? 

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), Gardening and Yard Stuff, This and That and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

