Grandma Cow

I haven’t done a check-in with our blog cow, Henrietta, in quite awhile, but now seems like the perfect time.

Yesterday afternoon Etta became a grandma! Her oldest daughter, Sophia, became a mom to a white bull calf. Mom and baby are both well. They even posed nicely for newborn photos. I’m guessing baby looks more like his father because he definitely isn’t as black as his mom.   

 

She wasn’t due until June 19th, but she still had quite a big calf. I’m guessing he would tip the scale around 100 pounds.

I was thinking about how this generation interval may seem quick to some of you, but compared to other livestock it’s actually much longer — think chickens, pigs, or sheep. Cattle also live a lot longer than other livestock, and it’s neat to watch cow families build and grow over time. That’s something I particularly enjoy about dairy cattle. Ever since I was a small 4-H kid showing my first calf I have loved to keep track of and watch my calves becomes mothers, grandmothers, great grandmothers, and so on.

I told Etta the news myself, and she didn’t seem as excited as I was. Maybe that’s because she’s spending energy growing another baby of her own. Yes, Etta is due with her next calf in early November.

 Here she is relaxing in a stall this morning. If you want a little more background on the blog cow (formerly the blog calf), check out the Meet Henrietta page.  

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Cows, Henrietta (Etta for short!) and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Grandma Cow

  1. Rebecca says:

    Congrats, Etta!

Leave a Reply

