Spring into Summer

How is it possible the sixth month of the year is almost here? May has gone quickly, and 2015 as a whole is simply passing too fast. 

When I was a kid I remember my dad often saying to me, “Time moves faster as you get older.” I thought this was a strange comment back then, but I’ve always believed my dad. He’s a smart man in many ways, and as I get older I have come to better understand what he means. Some days are still long, but as I look back I am surprised at the months and years that have ticked by.

After a dry start to spring we got drenched in rain a week ago and particularly throughout the weekend.

Sunday morning started out drizzling, and I put on my rain coat and rain pants to avoid being soaked as I did my work. The rain tapered off into huge wind gusts, and we had cleaning up to do after some hutches and branches couldn’t handle the wind. We got a few hours of breezy sunshine after that, but the afternoon brought two more heavy downpours leaving us with three inches of rain for the day.

  

The sunshine this week has dried up the mud puddles though, and most of the crops are easily visible in neat green rows wherever you drive in the country. We had a hint of frost on Monday night, but it wasn’t cold enough for long enough to cause major damage. 

The next thing we are preparing for is hay, and it won’t be long with all the rain and warm days we have had lately! Until then the cows and many new spring calves will keep us busy, along with the yard work we can never manage to keep up on. 

  
Our vegetables from a few weeks ago are still waiting to go in the garden, but with the late frost it’s okay we are a little behind. They will taste good no matter when they’re ready. We’ve got irises and tulips blooming in the meantime, and one of my favorite flowers has also made its yearly appearance. Does any flower smell better than a fresh lilac branch? I think not . 

  
Do you have a favorite spring flower? 

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), Baby Calf Care, Gardening and Yard Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

