Farm Tidbits

It’s been steadily warming up here in Minnesota. We’ve had a few days of rain and clouds amidst the sun for good measure, and tractors are busy in fields across much of the state.

We are having lots of new spring calves, and even though I’ve felt a little frazzled lately it’s still a beautiful time.

Last night as I finished up work, tired to the bone, I couldn’t wait to get home and eat and sleep. Then I looked around at the fresh grass, the calves lying down for the evening, and the fading sun. Even though the day was long it was still good. I took an extra moment to look at the animals, pet Calvin who trotted next to me, and soak up the sun. When things are busier (like right now) I have to remind myself to find the good. When I do it’s always worth it.

Just a few short months ago it was 20 below zero, and that thought also made me realize I had to be happy on a sunny spring evening!

On Thursday, April 23rd, we had two heifer calves born. The first was about two weeks early, and she was small and feisty. It took her a day to figure out the whole concept of standing, but now she’s jumping around as eagerly as any calf.

The second heifer was a few days late, and for a heifer she was huge. I assumed she was a big bull calf at first glance, but she proved me wrong.

These two girls, numbers 4672 and 4673, will live side by side for the next couple months, and I think they will be a fun pair to watch.

IMG_2452
I’ll bet you can’t guess who was early and who was overdue??

Here’s a few other views of my spring lately.

IMG_2425

IMG_2427

IMG_2388
My niece Madalyn and I shared a fun morning at her daycare open house a few weeks back. I’m so glad I had a chance to be there. She is 2-and-a-half, and I’m amazed by her inquisitive mind. I think her vocabulary will soon be bigger this mine!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), Baby Calf Care, Calvin, Family Fun, This and That and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

