Spring Into a Fresh Start (A Giveaway!)

Your heart is pounding fast, and you know you’re pushing your body harder than it wants to go. Your legs are straining, burning even, and you look down at your watch. Is it possible you’ve only been running for five minutes? Your mind is focused on one thing — how much you want to slow down and walk. Cool dawn air blows over your sweat-soaked face, and you hope this is worth it.

Some time later…

Your heart is pounding fast, and you know you’re pushing your body closer to being the best it can be. Your legs are straining, burning even, but you embrace the hurt as you climb another hill. Is it possible you’ve already been running for half hour? Your mind is focused on one thing — how grateful you are to be able to take a morning run. Cool dawn air blows over your sweat-soaked face, and you know this is worth it.

Who is this girl so transformed by the run? Is she you? Is she me?

Is she in all of us?
IMG_0786

IMG_2043

Running is hard. No matter how long you’ve been doing it, you’ll have days where you feel slow and tired and you downright hurt. The beauty is found over time. You will get stronger and faster if you keep putting in miles.

Whether it’s running, biking, swimming, or any type of individual sport, it offers this payback. You will get out of it what you put into it. It may be a long, winding journey with multiple roadblocks, but any step forward is a step in the right direction.

It doesn’t matter what level you’re at or how long it’s been since you have even thought about working out. TODAY is a great day to set a goal and take a small step toward achieving it. Start with five minutes or twenty. The number isn’t important; it’s all about believing.

Spring has seemingly come early to Minnesota, and the black fields and bright sun have farmers across the state thinking about planting.

I’m thinking about it too, but as a runner I’m also embracing springtime running. My routes are free of ice and snow, and I’m pulling out capris and short sleeves again. My water bottles will no longer freeze when I carry them with or stash them in my mailbox!

Whether you consistently exercise right now or not, this early spring is a great reason to get out and walk, run, or explore in the changing season.

To help you do that, I’m happy to announce a spring giveaway! First, a big thank you to my friends at Team Chocolate Milk

I’ve been a member of the team for several years, and I love being part of their vibrant community of triathletes, runners, cyclists, and even professional athletes.
IMG_2135

As a dairy farmer I especially love that they all believe in refueling with the quality protein and nutrients found in chocolate milk! The team provided items for me to share, and I also threw in a few goodies of my own.

What can you win?

I’m giving away one prize pack each to TWO lucky winners to help jump-start your spring training. Each winner will receive:

-Team Chocolate Milk headsweats wicking hat

-Team Chocolate Milk orange hair ties

-Team Chocolate Milk shoelaces

I’m adding in my favorite chocolate peanut butter gu (because it’s hard to send actual chocolate milk in the mail), and one of the winners will also get a Brooks technical running tee. The shirt is size small, so tell me in the comments if you’re interested in winning the shirt in your prize.

IMG_2051

How do you enter?

Entry 1) Leave a comment on this post telling me how you recover and refuel after a workout. Don’t forget to include if you’d like to win the shirt.

Entry 2) Tweet a link to the giveaway. Either tag me (@DairyCowGal) in the tweet or leave a comment so I know you’ve got a second entry. You can also tag @Chocolate_Milk.

I’ll leave the giveaway open through March 18 and announce the winners by the end of that week. I wish you all the very best in your spring activities, wherever they may take you.

Team Chocolate Milk provided some items for this giveaway, but I received no compensation for this post. All opinions are my own.

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Spring Into a Fresh Start (A Giveaway!)

  1. Katie says:

    It depends what I have been doing! I like an apple and peanut butter, sometimes peanut butter toast or chocolate milk do the trick though. I’d love to win the shirt.

  2. Lisa Wuertz says:

    After every run, I recover by stretching, then my favorite breakfast of oatmeal made especially creamy with milk! I too would like the shirt.

  3. I also enjoy chocolate milk after a hard workout but one of my other favorites is an open-faced egg sandwich. Can’t forget a nice long shower too! The shirt is cute but a small probably wouldn’t fit me. I’m LOVING this spring weather too. Can’t wait until I can start running again.

  4. Kara T says:

    I love to refuel with chocolate milk and a breakfast burrito. YUM! The shirt is probably too small for me. 🙂

  5. KME says:

    I love chocolate milk after a long run. It’s my go to each and every time. Perfect giveaway 🙂
    I’d love the shirt!
    Great blog!

  6. Stephanie says:

    After I run, I stretch for at least 10 minutes. I usually refuel with chocolate milk, with protein powder. Chocolate milk is one of my guilty pleasures, and I love that it is also something my body needs! (The small wouldn’t fit me.)

  7. Michelle says:

    After a shorter run I am bad and usually head back to my desk and down a quick lunch. After a longer run I recover with chocolate milk, or chocolate protein powder and milk.

    I’d love the small shirt!

  8. Trish says:

    I don’t run, but to recover after a bike ride I like to have real food. Since I often ride in the evening, I try to eat a healthy dinner as soon as I can after riding. I also love ALL.THE.CHOCOLATE!

  9. I usually come home and stretch, while making funny faces at the toddler and baby. They like to help me. 🙂 And is this horrible…I love cold coffee after a run.

  10. Jill W. says:

    Stretching/foam rolling and chocolate milk are my favorite ways to end a run! My legs always feel better after stretching. The shirt would fit my sister and her birthday is coming up, so if picked I’d love that too.

  11. kristin says:

    I drink chocolate milk in the summer and a venti peppermint white mocha in the winter! I’d love to win the shirt 🙂

  12. Julia Vickery says:

    I love chocolate milk after a run, especially since I don’t drink beer! It’s slightly better for me than the cheeseburger or pizza that I would really like. (The size small shirt would fit.)

  13. Ellen says:

    This probably sounds gross, but after a workout I like to eat a hunk off of rotisserie chicken OR a protein shake and potato chips. I really like the idea of chocolate milk though. I think mixing chocolate milk with protein mix would be yummy! I’d love the shirt if I win! It’s really cute!

  14. Ellen says:

    I also just tweeted about this giveaway.

  15. Pingback: Mild March | Cow Spots and Tales

  16. Pam says:

    I usually don’t keep chocolate milk on hand living by myself, so I usually go for a tall glass of cold milk! If I’m really feeling it, I also throw in a cheese stick! Any prize option works for me.

  17. Suzanne says:

    I love chocolate milk directly post-race with a banana and I usually have a regular Coke about an hour after that! No need to enter me in the giveaway but I wanted to leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

