Sunny and Cloudy Moods

Like a true Minnesotan, I’ve come to realize I write and talk a lot about the weather.

If it’s too hot or cold you will probably hear about it, and if it’s excessively rainy or snowy you will definitely hear about it! I discuss good weather too, and when it’s crisp and beautiful I usually mention how pleased the animals seem and how much I like running in it.

But WHY does the weather matter so much to me? I’m not some sort of aspiring meteorologist, but I am a farmer. I suppose I think about it because the weather effects my family and me more than average. Extreme cold makes outdoor work challenging, especially when engines don’t want to start and water turns to ice. Extreme heat isn’t fun for people or animals either, and it can be life threatening in heavy doses.

Too much rain can drown out crops and make calf yards a muddy mess. Too little rain can dry up our crops and our hopes for the season.

I know plenty of other jobs require outside work too. I sympathized wholeheartedly last week when I saw lineman working on power lines with the wind blowing and temps about zero. I don’t think I could do that.

When you work in the elements weather is just a lot different than when you observe it from an office window. Sure, maybe you wanted sunshine instead of rain so you could do yard work that evening, but it’s not your livelihood.

I do know anyone who has to drive, walk, or otherwise travel through treacherous snow, ice, or fog to get to work deals with challenges too. I’m not minimizing that. It can be downright scary when you need to be somewhere and a storm is raging.

With that, I have a few pictures of beautiful winter days I want to share. My mood the last few days was soaring as we had sun and warmth in February. As much as I try to maintain a positive attitude, it’s just easier when the day is lovely. Lovely doesn’t always mean sun though. Even a pleasant rainy day or softly falling snow can brighten my mood if we need it.

IMG_1719

IMG_1742
IMG_1741

IMG_1763-0
Doesn’t she look like she should be called Storm?

Calvin helped me out with a few pictures too.

IMG_1772

IMG_1773

IMG_1725-0
Groundhog Day shadow

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

