Balmy

I often dream about visible grass and sun that’s actual warm in January, but it’s rare those dreams become real.

Since we returned from vacation last weekend we have had the most balmy January week I can ever recall. I have lived in Minnesota my whole life, and the middle of January can be a bear.

While we did have an early November blizzard and plenty of below zero already, it’s wonderful to get a reprieve of sunshine.

This warmth has been more dry and crisp – unlike the fog and drizzle of December – so the cattle like it too. Usually in January we are worried about water freezing up or keeping snow clear of the hutches, but this past week the main challenge was muddy boots and extra straw for the outdoor pens!

We got a sprinkling of snow several nights to make things white, but usually by afternoon it melted off again.

2015/01/img_1660-0.jpg

2015/01/img_1658-0.jpg

2015/01/img_1674.jpg

This weather is also heaven if you happen to be a runner. Usually at the beginning of the year I decide on several spring races and start mapping out my training. Between getting ready for and going on vacation I just hadn’t nailed down a plan yet. I put in several sweaty miles around the resort in Mexico, but overall I felt uncertain. I hadn’t run a lot in 2015, and I wasn’t sure what kind of shape I was really in. I thought about how last winter I had to split up several long runs between outside and the treadmill because I couldn’t stand two to three hours of running in so much cold. (I’m talking days of well below zero with wind and blowing snow.)

I love the feeling of finishing a marathon, but does that mean I want to run one this spring? Is a 50K going to drive me completely crazy?

Saturday provided me with a glorious opportunity to find out. After doing a few morning chores and checking on our newest calf I got ready for my run. I even ate a gu and wore my water belt so I wouldn’t have an excuse to turn back too soon. Fifteen miles later I had my determination back. I’m so grateful we’ve been blessed with a true January thaw this year. It’s exactly what I needed, and I know that is not luck. It’s something much more powerful, and it gives me faith for the journey.

2015/01/img_1662.jpg

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Christian Reflections, Running and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Balmy

  1. Emily Grace says:

    Yes a January thaw gives blessed relief and vision. It’s been unseasonably mild here too. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

