To Mexico and Back Again

We left Minnesota during the wee hours of January 10th. Us and seemingly thousands of others from the northern Midwest were looking to flee to warm beaches. I don’t know if I mentioned it previously, but I’ve never seen Terminal 2 at MSP so full in my life!

I’d done most of my worrying the night before, and when we landed in Cancun the warm breezes and green landscape made me truly joyful. We were in the Riviera Maya for a week!

Our whole group made the journey safely, and we spent the first few days enjoying food, drink, pools, sun, ocean, and sky.
2015/01/img_1054.jpg

2015/01/img_1085.jpg

2015/01/img_1112.jpg

2015/01/img_1119.jpg

I knew one of JR’s objectives — besides getting his friend married — was to catch fish on the ocean. I helped set up a boat rental with a captain and all, and twelve of us cruised the sea for the morning. To be honest, I was a little disorientated from all the Dramamine I took, but at least I wasn’t terribly seasick like a few in our group. The smallest fish of the day were mine, but they were also the first! JR got several nice catches, and a wonderful chef at our resort even cooked up the red snapper for us. (We tipped accordingly.)

2015/01/img_1628.jpg

2015/01/img_1202.jpg

2015/01/img_1220.jpg

2015/01/img_1212.jpg

2015/01/img_1235.jpg

2015/01/img_1243.jpg

2015/01/img_1244.jpg

2015/01/img_1250.jpg

2015/01/img_1270.jpg
The wedding was a picture perfect day on the beach. We did have rain a few times on our trip, but for the wedding everything was sunny. I am beyond grateful to Brad and Amy for letting us be a part of their celebration. The officiant beautifully reminded all of us to chose love everyday as she asked God’s blessing on the couple.

2015/01/img_1362.jpg

2015/01/img_1408.jpg

2015/01/img_1390.jpg

2015/01/img_1442.jpg

2015/01/img_1415.jpg

I am so grateful for both the old and new friends we shared this trip with. Memories still vividly fill my mind, and I suspect they will do so for a long while. The stately Mayan ruins of Chichen Itza were our last stop, and they brought us deeper into Mexico in many ways. We drove through small villages, saw children playing, and got a better feel for the soul of the country. Yes, there was poverty and hardship, but there was also strength and perseverance. I admire the people we met on our journey.

2015/01/img_1616.jpg

2015/01/img_1621.jpg

2015/01/img_1600.jpg

2015/01/img_1563.jpg

2015/01/img_1597.jpg

Minnesota was waiting for us when we got back, complete with a beautiful winter day and melting snow. January has definitely been kind since then, and things are getting into a normal rhythm again at the farm. It’s hard to come back in some ways, but in other ways it’s always good to be home.

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Family Fun, This and That and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to To Mexico and Back Again

  1. Jill W. says:

    I was hoping you’d post about your trip! The fishing trip looks like it was a lot of fun and the wedding looked amazing. Glad you got to get away for a real vacation too!

    • Lisa says:

      Thanks Jill! It took me a while, but I absolutely needed to record this trip on the blog. I know it’s mostly full of pictures, so I’ll have to see if I’ve got more stories to share.

  2. Glad you had a good trip! I’ve been to that area in Mexico several times and have always enjoyed it. We’re planning to go back next spring.

  3. Emily Grace says:

    A farmer went on vacation! Praise be!

    What fun and fish and beauty! The groomsmen seem like a fun bunch and the bride is so lovely and has great style. I am living vicariously through your blog – I needed to vacation south of the border for a few minutes this morning, Lisa! Thanks for sharing.

    I’m off to the wet and cold now, but I’m smiling about warm beach weddings!
    Best,
    eg

  4. Rebecca says:

    Beautiful! What a picturesque wedding and vacation spot!

  5. Adriane Heins says:

    So glad you got a chance to soak up the sun!

  6. So glad you got to get away for a week, you definitely deserve a nice, relaxing vacation!

Leave a Reply

