Waiting in December

Children wait for Christmas with an almost unprecedented eagerness. The promise of a huge meal, cookies, candy, and – most of all – gifts means one of the best days of the year. The excitement of kids is joyful and contagious.

Many people also share time, money, and gifts with those in need, and that often brings more joy and peace than anything they do for themselves.

For Christians, Christmas is about waiting for Jesus. We prepare during advent, and we wait expectantly for our Savior. He is Wonderful Counselor, The Mighty God, The Everlasting Father, The Prince of Peace.
(Do you also hear the strong melody from Handel’s Messiah when you read those words?)

This winter snow-lovers are probably waiting impatiently for snow! After our early season blizzard we haven’t had much. It’s been melting again this week, and I think we may have a green Christmas for the first time in my memory.
IMG_1210.JPG
IMG_1212.JPG
As a kid I think it would disappoint me, but as an adult I can’t say I mind the lack of snow. I would, however, like it to freeze overnight so we don’t get so much mud around the yard.

Here are the farm I can’t help but tell you I’m also waiting for a baby. This particular baby calf is a special one.

Two springs ago a large black calf with a white stripe down her face was born. I affectionately called her Pepé La Pew.

IMG_4671.JPG

She kept growing, became a favorite, and the nickname Pepé stuck. Unfortunately she lost her first calf at about five months, which was early enough that she didn’t have any milk in her udder yet. We bred her several more times, and finally she became pregnant at almost two years old. Most cows here will have their first calf at just under two years of age, so she is definitely old. She’s also gotten incredibly large, and I hope she doesn’t have problems delivering because of her weight.

She isn’t due until January 10th, but as I watch her each day I think she will be early. Maybe a Christmas baby?

IMG_1201.JPG
IMG_1199.JPG

When do you think she will give birth??

As we all prepare for holiday celebrations I want to wish you peace and happiness. I hope you can enjoy time with those you love. Merry Christmas!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cows, This and That and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Waiting in December

  1. Pingback: An Update on Pepé Le Pew, The Cow | Cow Spots and Tales

Leave a Reply

