A Thank You and Some Recipes

Hi Readers!

If you read my previous post you know I’m giving away a pair of cow slippers. If not, well, surprise! You can check it out here and enter to win through December 8th.

Yes, I know giveaways draw traffic and comments, but I’m still just thrilled to see so many of you coming out of the woodwork. I’ve heard other bloggers say “comments are like candy,” and I am indeed feeling sweet right now.

I’m also especially grateful to Emily at Beef and Sweet Tea for sharing my giveaway on her blog as her FarrrTHUR edition 27. She even jazzed up my photo with some nifty graphics. See??
IMG_1087.JPG

I haven’t hosted a giveaway in quite a while, and I forget how much fun they are. I’ll have to see if I come up with another before the holiday season is over. Or maybe in the new year would be just as good?

Besides family, farming, and running, I like to share about food from time to time. I know I haven’t been doing that lately either, so I thought tonight would be a start.

How does something green and something sweet sound?

On Thanksgiving I alluded to making a green salad. I had thought about steaming brussel sprouts and cooking up a creamy sauce, but I decided we would have enough rich and creamy sauce already. After some recipe browsing I became convinced I could make a tasty salad out of raw chopped sprouts. So I did.

I re-created it tonight without some of the extra goodies because I still had a bag of brussel sprouts to use up.

IMG_1090.JPG

Here’s my best estimation of the full recipe.

Ingredients:
18 oz fresh brussel sprouts
4 – 5 slices bacon
1/4 – 1/2 cup nuts (pecans, walnuts, or cashews seem best)
1/4 cup olive oil
1/4 cup cider vinegar
1 tablespoon lemon juice
2 tablespoons sugar
Fresh ground black pepper
Fresh grated Parmesan

Brown the bacon and drain on paper towels. Crumble into small pieces and set aside. If the nuts you are using aren’t roasted, roast them in the oven for 5-10 minutes with a little butter and salt if you like. (Don’t let them burn.) Set aside to cool.

Wash your sprouts and chop them (or food process) as finely as you prefer. Place sprouts in a bowl.

To make dressing, combine olive oil, vinegar, sugar, and lemon juice in a small bowl. Whisk together until combined and pour over salad. Generously season with fresh cracked pepper. ( I would taste at this point to see if you need more sugar or lemon or just more dressing in general.) Cover and refrigerate if not serving immediately.

Just before serving, add the bacon and nuts, stir, and top with finely grated Parmesan.

Now for the sweet. I decided to bake muffins to share with family and our workers on Thanksgiving morning. I knew I wanted cranberry, and I also decided on a twist on a classic by making pumpkin chocolate chip. I did leave about 1/4 of the muffins plain pumpkin in case the flavor combination wasn’t great. I could have stuck with my instinct that chocolate is always good.

Here are the recipes I used. A few notes: Aside from slightly over baking one pan of the pumpkin muffins they turned out great. The cranberry ones got hard to mix at the end. I used a few extra cranberries because I didn’t have figs, and I used walnuts instead of hazelnuts.
Cranberry Harvest Muffins

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

IMG_1001.JPG

IMG_0996.JPGe

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cooking and Foods, This and That and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Thank You and Some Recipes

  1. Emily Grace says:

    We adore brussel sprouts! Yum!

Leave a Reply

