Thanksgiving 2014

I never seem to take many pictures at family holidays. In the midst of wanting to visit with parents, sisters and their husbands, nieces and nephews, and extended family (plus eat and clean up!) the day practically evaporates.

It goes so quickly, and when it’s over I wish I had at least one photo of everyone all together. Right now I’m also thinking back to smaller moments like my dad carving the turkey, my mom patiently stirring the gravy, and my niece delicately using her pink plastic spoon. Those would be beautiful snapshots.

Yesterday evening just as we were leaving my parent’s house I actually paused to ask my sisters if they were up for a photo. The sister who had already changed into sweats looked at me skeptically, and I knew we were also missing my little sister. So I told them to take a picture tomorrow in front of my dad’s newly finished fireplace. Maybe they can photoshop me in. ๐Ÿ™‚ And then I remind myself that the conversation, time together, and memories are really better than pictures.

The eclectic collection of photos I did take makes me smile. Even though it was negative windchill all day my nephews desperately wanted to play on the snow hills. One sister and I braved the cold for about half hour with them, and we finally enticed them back inside with promises of dessert (which we had). They still fully insisted they were NOT cold!
IMG_1015.JPG

IMG_1010.JPG
I hurriedly photographed the table as we were in mid-process of setting out the food. The neat rolls of white are my sister Linda’s lefse . She’s the first in our generation of the family to take over making the Norwegian staple, and she did great. I brought the conspicuously green salad. Though it also has bacon and fresh grated Parmesan. The cranberries were tasty and tart as they should be, and that white glass square was just waiting to have a glass dish of hot, crusty stuffing placed on it.

IMG_1004.JPG
JR and I did get our picture in front of my dad’s completed fireplace.
IMG_1025.JPG
He selected the rocks himself from among those picked out of our own farm fields. Then he washed them all up, and he cut them flat on one side.

Cutting rock is no easy process, and I think my dad admitted it was more intensive than he even thought. He borrowed a special saw made for the job, which has a diamond blade for cutting. The hardest to cut were the corner rocks because he needed to take a 90 degree angle out instead of just cutting them flat.

It’s a beautiful and warm focal point now for gathering and being together.
IMG_1024.JPG

After checking in on the farm when we returned home we got to spend some time with JR’s family later in the evening. We missed the main meal, but leftovers did not disappoint! It’s hard to balance travel and time with both families, and I know that’s a challenge most couples have. With only an hour drive in between we can usually balance both, though sometimes it’s on separate days.

I’m grateful for lots of family and the knowledge that we always have several places we are welcome.

I hope you and your family had a blessed Thanksgiving too. Whatever challenges have come during the year, God is good at calming my heart at Thanksgiving time and reminding me of my many blessings. I feel encouraged to share what I can and try to pass on love and thankfulness.

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cooking and Foods, Family Fun and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thanksgiving 2014

  1. Heidi Nicole says:

    Ooooh, snow piles! I remember using the payloader to get the snow piled as high as possible in the middle of our driveway [we had a circle drive with a long stretch of gravel coming in] then sledding down in!

    Happy Thanksgiving! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Suzanne says:

    The fireplace is beautiful! Glad you and your family had a wonderful Thanksgiving together. I did a terrible job taking pictures over Thanksgiving too. Not sure I took a single one on the actual day of Thanksgiving!

Leave a Reply

