Still White

The weather warmed up this weekend, and I’m glad November decided to resemble fall again for a few days. We still have snow cover, but it’s getting mushy with a lot of melting.

A silver lining of the early cold burst is it makes 32* feel absolutely beautiful. Unfortunately we’re headed back to single digit temperatures in the next few days. I suppose it’s time to accept winter and embrace the upcoming season (and the holidays)!

A bright spot on the farm recently was the long awaited arrival of Maxine’s calf. Who is Maxine, you ask?

Well, she’s a rather non-descript white cow with small spots and large eyes. I befriended her specially because she had such a rough transition to life as a milking cow. She delivered her first calf several months too early, and the baby didn’t live. It took her a little while to get strong and healthy again, but she’s been doing quite well since.

IMG_0244-0.JPG A selfie with Maxine this summer.

She was due on November 13th, and each day she was overdue I got more impatient. It seems like the odds of a bull calf go up when a cow is late, but I didn’t worry about that. I just wanted her to have a healthy calf and an easy delivery.

IMG_0962.JPG

On the morning of November 20th I got my wish. She even had a girl!

IMG_0967.JPG

IMG_0966.JPG

Because it’s cold out, baby went into the blue calf warmer for several hours. It closes on top except for a few air holes, and a heater in the bottom keeps the calf warm as she dries off.

Here she is, complete with large tags and long ears. This is Millicent.

IMG_0985.JPG

When I have some down time during the winter, I must admit my favorite activities often involve a warm fire, hot coffee or tea, sweets, and something to read. I’m not always a complete lump though. 🙂

This past Saturday I was reminded of how much I love running on a cool but sunny winter morning. The roads had melted off enough to not be dangerously icy, and the frozen fog of morning was getting pushed aside by bright sun.

I’ve done a few treadmill runs lately, but mostly I’ve been on a lower mileage break since the end of October. I wanted to do at least five miles, but it was so nice outside I didn’t want to turn back. I think I would have stayed out there for hours if I didn’t have to go to work. The breeze was light so I never had wind in my face, and I was fully comfortable in thin running tights, a zip up jacket with undershirt, gloves, and a fleece headband. Every time I felt a little too warm I’d push up my sleeves and feel fine in a few minutes.

The snow glittered in the sun, and I even scared up a few pheasants when I turned a corner on the country road. I’m positive they startled me more than I startled them!

If every run felt this good I’m certain the whole world would be doing it. Maybe the time off has given me fresh legs or maybe my attitude is just improved by the better weather. I’m grateful for it either way.

IMG_0979.JPG

IMG_0982-0.JPG

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Baby Calf Care, Running and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Still White

  1. Suzanne says:

    Millicent is a cute little calf! She was born on my sister’s birthday.

Leave a Reply

