The Eleventh Month

It’s been a mild November so far in the heart of Minnesota. I don’t know how long it will last though because winter precipitation starting with an “S” has been mentioned a few times in the forecast. I’d love to hold on to several more weeks of brown landscape and dry ground if it means the temperatures stay moderate.

IMG_0833-1.JPG

Some may think November drab compared to the reds and golds of October, but I’m okay with its boring color. December is plenty soon for white and snow.

I also like the calm of this time of year. I’m looking forward to Thanksgiving and even starting to think about Christmas, but there’s no flurry of preparations yet. I can dream about the best parts without any of the chaos. (Still, chaos is fun sometimes!) I also love reading from Luke and Matthew this time of year. I can soak up the story of Jesus birth without anything getting in the way of the wonder.

I know I’ve been quieter than usual on the blog the last few months, but I did take some time this week for updates.

You’ll notice a new picture at the top, though I suppose I should have opted for a fall or wintry scene instead of summer pasture. I like the happy look of the calves though, especially the white spotted girl on the far left.

I also condensed my https://cowspotsandtales.wordpress.com/about/ page. It was time for a change, and shorter seemed more interesting this time around. Give it a read and tell me what you think.

Things at the farm are continuing in a regular rhythm. Cows are milked everyday, new calves are born, everybody gets fed, and field work is winding down for the season.

IMG_0793.JPG

IMG_0820.JPG

What’s happening for you this month?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), Baby Calf Care, This and That and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Eleventh Month

  1. Adriane Heins says:

    You’ll be in our prayers that the Minnesota cold and snow and wind holds off as long as possible . . . preferably until about next June. So . . . never. Deal? 🙂

  2. Suzanne says:

    The calf looks so cute with his little jacket on!

Leave a Reply

