“I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers.”

Fall is awesome. I’m pretty sure I’ve always thought so. As a school kid and even as a teen I liked the rhythm of going back to school, and as a farm kid I knew the importance and beauty of the harvest season.

I now find myself excited to make thick soups and applesauce in my crockpot, and I love the crunch of crisp leaves and the speed in my legs during a cool fall morning run.

Yes, fall days on a farm can be really busy. Sometimes lonely too. I often find myself solo at the supper table after dark once I’ve brought JR a meal to eat in the field. But it’s only for a little while, and dry weather to bring in quality silage for the cows is a blessing to give thanks for.

Yesterday, after over three weeks of start and stop, we finished harvesting our corn silage. There is still lots to do to prepare those fields for winter (tillage, hauling manure, etc), but it can be done at a more normal pace than harvest.

We covered silage with tires and plastic for the last time this season, and I can’t say I’ll miss it.

20141009-114943.jpg

During much of the fall we are busier than normal, so sometimes when I stop to look at my yard I cringe a little. Fall yard cleanup often waits until a few days before the snow flies, and sometimes it doesn’t happen then, either.

But maybe I’m okay with that. My house and yard will never be pristine – in any season. I have a feeling even if I didn’t farm I would get behind on these tasks. (Okay, I know I would!) But I still soak in the sight of leaves waiting to be raked, grass that’s a little too long, and cattle enjoying the last pasture of the season.

This summer I found myself making a little monthly feature of the current flowers in my yard. October appears different with pumpkins and orange leaves, but I still have a few hardy flowers blooming. Here’s a look around the past week.

20141009-115306.jpg

20141009-115325.jpg

20141009-115337.jpg

20141009-115350.jpg

20141009-115401.jpg

From one of my favorite reads of all time…

“I’m so glad I live in a world where there are Octobers.” – Anne of Green Gables

20141009-131459.jpg

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), Crops and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

