Fair Time Again

The Minnesota State Fair is a wonder. I know I don’t have experience at other state fairs to personally compare, but I’m certain our fair is something special.

Between the barns and exhibits, endless and imaginative food choices, entertainment of all sorts, vendors for everything, and over 1 million visitors each year, the fair is a major highlight for many Minnesotans and beyond.

Maybe I just have extra fond memories and nostalgia because my parents always brought us to the fair growing up. I don’t know how my mom kept track of five little girls at the busy fairgrounds, but I’m grateful and in awe. Once I was old enough I looked forward to bringing my own dairy cow or heifer and also doing other projects like fashion revue. (Yes, I got to model clothes in the youth 4-H competition back in the day. 🙂 )

The fair always runs for twelve days ending Labor Day, and this year we went on day two. Rain kept putting off our efforts to cut hay, so JR and I decided we would go before hay while we had the chance. I secretly had hopes of returning sometime Labor Day weekend, but alas, it was not to be.

Because we both exhibited livestock for many years and also worked at the fair in various capacities during our college years, we usually see a lot of familiar faces. As we get older though, fewer of our friends are able to take extended time to work or be at the fair. We still had a great afternoon bumping into several friends, and we had more time to taste all the things!

We went with a lot of savory versus sweet, but we did top off the day with a milkshake.

20140901-222333.jpg

20140901-222400.jpg

20140901-222419.jpg
My friend Amanda is describing how to milk a cow!

20140901-222459.jpg

20140901-222512.jpg

20140901-222525.jpg

One thing I did miss this year was the 5K Milk Run. I was all signed up with a number, but schedules got nuts and I couldn’t get away from the farm Sunday morning. Even when I plan on something, sometimes I’ve just got to stay home and do what the farm and the animals need. I’m sure any farmer (or business owner) can relate. We actually started cutting hay that afternoon and were lucky to get it chopped and covered Wednesday in between rain showers.

Team Dairy still had a great showing in spite of the warm, humid conditions. (Though I don’t think it was as hot as last year’s sauna!) Congrats to all the runners!

20140901-223035.jpg

Now it’s Labor Day night, and many of you have back to school activities gearing up tomorrow. Whatever fall brings, I wish you a happy start. Don’t forget to include some protein (maybe milk or Greek yogurt??) in breakfast tomorrow for a great start to the year.

This little Labor Day baby agrees.

20140901-223247.jpg

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), Cooking and Foods, Cows, Family Fun and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fair Time Again

  1. LifeisBeachyKeen says:

    I don’t think I’ve ever been to our state fair. I just had to look up when it is (February). Apparently it’s first state fair of the year, every year. Makes sense, most places are covered in snow in Feb, and that’s our last month of probable nice weather.

    I don’t do well with big crowds, so that mainly our reason for not going as adults. Maybe when Paisley is bigger we can take her – ugh. The things we will do for our kids.

    • Lisa says:

      February does make more sense in Florida! I love the fair, but I agree that the crowds exhaust me by the end. The stats just came out that over 1.8 million people visited this year. Craziness. 🙂

Leave a Reply

