Another Colorful Update

I love garden flowers. My mom always had lots of vibrant perennials while I was growing up, and I loved hearing how some of the flower beds traced back to my grandma and great-grandma.

We had spindly white daisies that would pop up by the garage every summer, and bright orange tiger lilies and magenta peonies would come soon after. The delicate white cala lily was always my favorite. My sisters and I would help plant low maintenance annuals like petunias, marigolds, and zinnias to fill in the empty places. We always had a large vegetable garden too, and many hours were spent planning, planting, weeding, and harvesting for our family of seven.

My own thumb isn’t as green, but I still like fresh vegetables and fresh flowers. When my husband and I moved into our first house, we had a few tulips and day lilies that would come up each year. Beyond that I would usually plant several pots of geraniums, begonias, and petunias for color. We had tomatoes, peppers and melons, mostly thanks to my husband, but that was it.

When we moved houses two years ago, the yard came with a wealth of blooms. Many of the flowers from my childhood — tiger lilies, white daisies, and peonies — were present, plus many more lilies and plants.

I think God suspected that I needed these flowers, but I would never get around to planting them. And he provided. πŸ™‚

As I’ve mentioned a time or two this summer, our vegetables fell far behind this year. We have just a few plants instead of a garden-full, but my trusty flowers help fill the void. (In spite of minimal care.)

I shared some of the early flowers in A Colorful Update, and now I’ll show you what July has brought.

20140729-110919.jpg

20140729-110938.jpg

20140729-110958.jpg

20140729-111146.jpg

20140729-111157.jpg

20140729-111208.jpg

Last but not least, these ladies are looking pretty nice too. (I know they’re not flowers.)

20140729-111328.jpg

20140729-111342.jpg

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cows, Gardening and Yard Stuff, This and That and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another Colorful Update

  1. Rebecca says:

    Lovely! I don’t have much of a green thumb either.

  2. Heidi Nicole says:

    So many pretty flowers! Even with white/black of the cows pop in your photos!

    We had lilies all the time growing up — even rogue one that would grow at the end of our quarter mile long driveway! Love them…unless you’re wearing white and brush up against them on accident!

Leave a Reply

