Being a Dairy Princess

Here in Minnesota we have something called Princess Kay of the Milky Way.

Unlike many others contests for young women that feature a crown and sash, this contest is about something different. It’s for women who live and/or work on dairy farms.

In a nutshell, Princess Kay represents dairy farmers across the state. Whether it’s at schools, community events, or media appearances, she shares her dairy farm experience, the nutritional benefits of dairy foods, and her passion for the dairy community. You can even connect with Princess Kay on Facebook!

The Princess Kay contest starts in each county throughout the state where county dairy princesses are named. In May each year, nearly 100 dairy princesses comes together to learn, share, and compete for a spot as one of twelve finalists. Then, Princess Kay will be crowned from among those twelve the night before the Minnesota State Fair opens.

This year I was lucky to be able to meet and talk with many of the princesses at their May competition. I spoke about my experience sharing my dairy farm story — both online and in-person. I talked about how to be real because I believe that’s one of the most important things we can be. Certainly my blog and social media sites are part of how I connect, but I think having a conversation in the grocery store or at a community picnic is just as important.

My goal isn’t to preach dairy or farming everywhere I go. Rather I hope to give a simple inside glimpse into a lifestyle far different from what many of you experience day-to-day. If you have questions about how food is raised on today’s farms please know you can ask me. If I don’t have an answer, I’ll do my best to find out and direct you to facts on both sides of the issue.

Maybe I can even make you laugh with some of the small moments and mishaps that happen around the farmyard.
20140520-081357.jpg

I continue to share my family news, running ambitions and races, my faith, our dogs, and my food picks (which often include bacon, cheese, or sweets) because these are part of who I am too. After all, this blog is nothing if not real.

I hope this weekend I was able to leave each young dairy princess with that same message. That their conversations, speeches, and interactions are nothing if not real.

I’m far too old to be Princess Kay anymore, but it doesn’t seem that long ago I was in their shoes. I was never the most well spoken or eloquent, and I was never picked as a finalist. However, I was always excited to share the message of dairy farming in Minnesota.

20140520-081113.jpg

Thanks Mom and Dad for being dairy farmers!

And thank you, all of you as consumers, who support what we do by choosing dairy foods for your family.

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Agriculture ( in general), Family Fun, This and That and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Being a Dairy Princess

  1. Lisa Wuertz says:

    You must be doing something (or everything) right! You look exactly the same now as you did in your Dairy Princess photo:)

  2. Robyn says:

    Lisa,
    One of the gals I went to college with married a rancher my Husband grew up with. She was a MN girl and Princess Kay also. This gal and her Husband are very active in the Young Farmers and Rancher Farm Bureau program.

    I’m sure it was fun to interact with the future faces of the dairy industry. Kudos to you for taking time out of your busy life to influence youth and open yourself up to learning from them too.

Leave a Reply

