Race Week Jitters

It’s mid-May, and that means farmers are working up the soil and planting their fields, or they’re anxiously waiting for the fields to get dry enough to do so.
20140507-100243.jpg
A few small patches of snow remain in sheltered or wooded areas, but the spring thaw is mostly complete.

I’m thinking about the planting and upcoming growing season too, but this week it’s hard to keep one word at bay in my brain.

Marathon.

This is race week. I’ve actually been thinking of running the Lake Wobegon Trail Marathon for several years, and last fall I decided it would be my goal spring race. So many hours have gone into preparing and training for this one day that it’s hard not to dwell on it.

Even with hard work, things don’t always go how we plan, so I’m really grateful to be healthy and ready for the start line Saturday.

This being my third marathon, you’d think I would know enough about the distance to be less nervous. Actually, I think I know enough about the distance to be more nervous!

The marathon is unpredictable. I’ve gleaned a few things from my own experience and the race stories of friends and bloggers — though I still have a lot to learn.

Sometimes the marathon embraces you with great conditions that allow you to run to your full potential. Most often, you’ll have a roller coaster of both high and low points that showcase the joy and the pain of the race. But other times, she just has her claws out for you.

Yes, I think the marathon might be a “she.”
20140507-204555.jpg
Via Superstockdotcom

I’m healthy as I said, so the biggest threat to success besides my own mental state is probably weather.

Heat would be my main nemesis because I’ve gotten used to freezing runs with wind and snow for most of my training. The optimum 55-60 degree temperature my treadmill sits in doesn’t help much for heat acclimation either. The last few weeks have still been cool, but tonight I did a rare evening run. It was a humid 65*, and to me it felt like mid-summer. That’s not so good…

This marathon starts early at 7:00 am though, so heat shouldn’t be a major issue. The rain/wind outlook in the forecast keeps changing, but 40-50 degrees in the morning is agreed upon. If I can get a tailwind or just avoid a headwind or thunderstorm I’ll be a happy camper.

I’m also still focused on fundraising for Helen Keller International in honor of my mom and her vision loss. I’m so grateful to see several of you, my readers, have donated. Your generosity is appreciated, and my mom is touched too.

If you still wish to donate, just click on the link above, and mention “Marathon for Mom.”

Besides the big goal of breaking four hours, I’ve got a few other goals for Saturday.

– Run relaxed and enjoy the race. It’s easy for me to wish away the miles when things get real, but once it’s over I know I’ll want it back.

– Find a buddy. I always enjoy longer races more if I can find a few people to chat and strategize with. I hope this works out.

– Go for it. Don’t give up and don’t hold back.
20140507-214714.jpg

With the Lord’s help, I believe I can have a great race.

Now it’s all about resting, hydrating, and eating some serious carbs (and a giant steak or two) before race day. Hopefully the calves will be lenient with their demands too. ๐Ÿ˜‰

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Running and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Race Week Jitters

  1. Robyn says:

    Lisa,
    Good Luck with your marathon this weekend. Remember to keep a positive attitude and your only competition is yourself. I look forward to your post marathon blog.

    Beef, fuel for the runner!

  2. Rebecca says:

    Have a great race! You are well-prepared. Is it actually a trail marathon? Those can be tough but really fun!

    • Lisa says:

      This is actually the opposite of a true trail race. It’s very rural, but it’s run on a smooth, flat pedestrian trail built on what was an old railroad line.

  3. Sarah Jewell says:

    Lisa, I so enjoyed meeting you today at the Lake Wobegon Trail Marathon. Thanks for sharing your tips with a first timer!

  4. Hope it went well today! I’ll be anxiously awaiting your race report.

Leave a Reply

