Stuff That’s Green

The grass, for one. Inches and inches of rain have fallen since Sunday, and today we keep getting a few errant snowflakes. So the grass is greening up, and any fields seeded with wheat, oats, or barley are happy with the gush of moisture.
20140429-163139.jpg
It’s been a mess of wind and mud otherwise, and we can’t wait for dry weather so planting can continue. Or start. Every farmer gets impatient when May is near and the corn isn’t planted yet!

My own tiny growing project is coming along too. I started some seeds back in March — just peppers and tomatoes because the season isn’t really long enough to sow them directly. We’ll probably buy some seedlings too, but I’m pleased with how my little tomatoes are looking. The ones that came up at least…

20140429-155536.jpg

The peppers were slower, but they’re making an attempt as well.

While buying groceries last week, I was inspired to buy a large tub of spinach. It didn’t look that much bigger than the bags I sometimes buy, but looks can be deceiving. I tend to chose spinach over lettuce because it keeps better and longer. (Is this true for you?) It’s generally more versatile and nutrient dense too.

Anyway, I made a big salad and added fresh spinach to tacos and sandwiches for a few days without making much of a dent. I hate having to throw out produce, so I decided JR and I would just be eating spinach at meals until it was gone.

Soon it was appearing in stir-fry, cheesy chip dip, and burritos.

I also got some great ideas via Instagram for things to make with spinach. (Thanks!)

Sadie shared this tasty Wilted Spinach Salad over Fried Eggs recipe.

20140429-160712.jpg
Nice photo from Sadie’s blog, Dairy Good Life

Another suggestion was The Pioneer Woman’s Spinach Salad.

I mostly followed her recipe except I sautΓ©ed the onions and mushrooms together, and I used leftover Easter eggs instead of making fresh. Plus, JR and I can’t really do a salad without cheese. I was just going to cover it with shredded cheddar, but he suggested feta. I knew that was the answer. Bleu cheese or chΓ¨vre would also be good.

20140429-161633.jpg
Photo courtesy of me! I could hardly wait to taste. Just kidding… I tasted before it even hit my plate.

And there you have it. In spite of the snowflakes swirling here and there today, some things are still green!

What’s green where you are?

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Cooking and Foods, Gardening and Yard Stuff and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Stuff That’s Green

  1. Hey, I was thinking about your Spot of the Week the other day, and was wondering if you’d do one on your house? We haven’t heard much about your house projects etc since you bought it… and if you’ve been too busy to make any progress, that’s ok too! I’m kind of over the rain… but am glad that it is greening everything up.

    • Lisa says:

      I will work on this. πŸ™‚ I’m kind of challenged in the decorating & home improvement dept, so we haven’t done a lot. But I can do a post once I take a few pictures.

Leave a Reply

