The Last Snow Spot

I’m going to be optimistic and say last because I do think by next week this sad little pile of squishy snow will be gone.

Which pile do I mean?

Well, this winter we had drifts from the Northwest like I have never seen. Heaps of snow piled up in many places, but one particular spruce tree in our yard really took the brunt.

20140427-145414.jpg

Here’s a brief chronology:

20140427-144620.jpg
Mid-March

20140427-144537.jpg
April 14

20140427-144949.jpg
April 17

20140427-144657.jpg
April 26

Today the sky poured rain intermittently, and it looks to continue tonight. I think when morning comes our snow pile might be toast.

Rain or shine, our geese and ducks have happily taken over the yard again. It was a long winter for them too!

20140427-222119.jpg

It seems strange that this marathon cycle is nearly over. So many times I wished race day would hurry up, but now I’m almost wanting a few more weeks to train and plan. Ready or not, May 10th is race day. I had a solid week with most of my body feeling back in order. I kept the beginning of the week easy, and recovery from last week’s half was fine. This leads me to hope and believe my legs have more to give.

Marathon Training April 21 – 27

Monday – off
Tuesday – 3.55 miles in 32:10, fartlek
Wednesday – 5.4 miles in 50:00 with 3 x 1 mile @ 8:57
Thursday – off
Friday – 2.25 miles in 19:30, ran it like I felt it
Saturday 15.11 miles in 2:18:43 with last 6 marathon pace (8:52 avg)
Sunday – off

Total – 26.3 miles

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Running, Spot of the Week and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to The Last Snow Spot

  1. Adriane Heins says:

    All right, let’s hear it. We need to know the duck story! How did you pick them? How many? How do the dogs deal with them? Etc. I mean, please? ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Lisa says:

      Last spring we ordered the “surprise variety pack” of poultry. My husband was the real instigator of the project. We butchered the chickens & turkeys in the fall, but we kept the geese & ducks. The birds’ arrival story is chronicled here: https://cowspotsandtales.wordpress.com/2013/05/02/the-birds-have-arrived/

      You can also click on the “poultry project” category for more of the bird details.

      Keep in mind, I knew next to nothing about raising about raising these critters when we started. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. You’re totally ready for your race!!

  3. Emily Grace says:

    Love the chronology of that spruce! I want some geese.

    • Lisa says:

      Geese are fun, but be warned… They are messy. ๐Ÿ˜‰

      • Emily Grace says:

        So, I’ve heard! I guess I’ll hold off for a while. How do you keep the coyotes from eating yours?

      • Lisa says:

        We do have coyotes around, but not lots, and our yard is pretty sheltered. The birds also know to go in the barn once it gets dark. Just like clockwork. I was worried at first when we started letting them out last summer, but so far so good!

      • Emily Grace says:

        The barn is a good idea. I have an old one here that’s just used for equipment shelter – I could clean out an old stall and make them a nice place to stay at night. Great idea, Lisa!

  4. Pingback: Race Week Comparisonsย  | Cow Spots and Tales

Leave a Reply

