An Easter Spot

Easter weekend has been kind of a whirlwind. Saturday morning did dawn windy, and I headed to the Earth Day race to brave the weather and run.

After the race and a quick shower and snack, I was back at the farm to check on things. I’d finagled most of Saturday off because I was working Easter, so JR and I drove to my parent’s once we were satisfied all was in order at the dairy.

Lots of family and my small nephews and niece made for a happy afternoon. We saw extended family, played games, dyed Easter eggs, and dropped in on my best friend and her family who I haven’t seen in far too long.

Easter morning came early with a few farm tasks followed by 6:00 sunrise church (which was indeed held outside beneath a glorious sunrise). We even had three new baby calves throughout the rest of the morning. We enjoyed way too many edible delicacies with JR’s family at dinner, and I was glad to get moving again outside at the farm for evening chores.

At the moment I think I’m still in a partial sugar frenzy as I look back on the fun of the weekend. If you follow me on Instagram I know you’ve seen a lot of these, but this week’s “spot” is just going to be photos from the above mentioned activities. I’m skipping the running stuff because the race will get its own post soon. 🙂

20140420-170541.jpg

20140420-203355.jpg

20140420-203656.jpg

20140420-203712.jpg

20140420-203745.jpg

20140420-203759.jpg

20140420-203819.jpg

20140420-204151.jpg

Training this week was sparse. I wanted to rest more than run to calm my cranky right shin and give my body a little break before the race. I still stretch, ice, and do some core work on off days. The easy week was probably a smart choice; more actual race details to come…

Marathon Training April 14 – 20

Monday – off
Tuesday – 3.1 miles easy in 28:41
Wednesday – off
Thursday – 3 miles in 26:59 with 1 mile @ 8:27, 2 x 400 @ 7:54, finish at marathon pace
Friday – off
Saturday – 14.3 miles including 13.1 mile race in ???
Sunday – off

Total – 20.4 miles

20140420-212745.jpg
Happy Easter!

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Family Fun, Running, Spot of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An Easter Spot

  1. Suzanne says:

    It sounds like a pretty busy but fun weekend! I love the photo of all the dogs together. They look so happy!

    Hope you have a great week this week.

Leave a Reply

