Friday is Good

20140418-151510.jpg
“At noon, darkness fell across the whole land until three o’clock. Then, at that time Jesus called out with a loud voice ” Eloi, Eloi, lema sabachthani?” Which means, “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?”…
Then Jesus uttered another loud cry and breathed his last. And the curtain in the Temple was torn in two, from top to bottom. When the Roman officer who stood facing him saw how he had died, he exclaimed, “Truly, this was the Son of God!”

These words from the book of Mark always paint a turbulent picture of the final scene at the cross in my brain. I’ve never witnessed an earthquake or similar here in Minnesota, so I imagine a brooding summer storm. It’s thick clouds that turn dark and thunder that booms so loud it startles all the animals across the yard. Then comes drenching rain and wind.

Of course the good thing about Good Friday is that it’s not the end. Easter morning will bring life and love.

During this Holy Week it seems strange that I’m running a race on Saturday. It’s the Earth Day Half Marathon that’s become an April tradition for me, so I didn’t want to miss it.

I’ve finally decided I can honor God as well with my motion as I can with stillness.

We don’t have any new Easter blooms yet this year, so I’ll share some from a year past.

I wish you all a blessed Holy Week and Easter.

20140418-151155.jpg

About Lisa

Hi, I'm Lisa. Dairy farmer's wife and Minnesotan to the core, I write about rural farm life, running down country roads, and the food, faith, and family that bind everything together. Follow along on my journey.
This entry was posted in Christian Reflections, This and That and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

